PDA

View Full Version : Back up all files?


Tom
03-20-2006, 06:58 PM
I would like to get clear on this point:

"If you choose a destination volume that already has files on it, those files may be overwritten by the backup operation. The exact behavior of SuperDuper! is defined by the During copy section of Options..., discussed below."

Does this mean that if I have various folders on an EX HD, that the first time I clone my HD to the EX HD, SuperDuper will erase the various folders?

dnanian
03-20-2006, 07:07 PM
Yes, it will. However, there are solutions to this. Please see the section of the User's Guide entitled "Storing a backup alongside other files on a destination volume", linked right off the first page of the User's Guide.

Hope that helps!

Tom
03-20-2006, 07:21 PM
Ok, so I can use a sparse image without partitioning.

Do I understand that I can then use smart update to udate the image
and all other folders will remain untouched?

dnanian
03-20-2006, 07:24 PM
That's right, the action of Smart Update is isolated to the destination volume which -- in this case -- is the image.

Tom
03-20-2006, 07:37 PM
Sorry to keep bugging you.
I have set it up to create an image on an EX HD.
However I still see:
"Pressing "Copy Now" will first erase LaCie160." (the name I gave it)

Should I ignore this?
Thanks.

Wait, now I'm confused I'll post back later.

Ok, I think I've got it.
Never mind.

dnanian
03-20-2006, 08:55 PM
OK. Glad you've figured it out, Tom.

Tom
03-20-2006, 09:22 PM
One more question.
Step 3. After Successful Copy.
How long is the, Creating ASR Image of... step supposed to last?

dnanian
03-20-2006, 09:26 PM
If you're creating an image, you're trying to image an image, which won't work. Click Stop. Your sparse image will be fine; please uncheck the "Image" option in the Advanced tab of options... you don't want to do that.

Tom
03-20-2006, 09:31 PM
I see.
Well, everything looks good.
Thanks