PDA

View Full Version : Bootable step required for data backup only?


hattorihanzo
03-14-2006, 07:24 AM
I setup a custom script to copy some folders from my DATA drive to my BACKUP drive. I followed the example in the manual and used the Backup - all files.dset script and included ignore commands for the folders I do not want to backup.

The script runs fine and copies over the folders to by backup drive, but the 3rd step says it is making this drive 'bootable'. Since I am backing up data only, is this really required since I am not making a 'bootable' or bootable cloned drive.

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo

dnanian
03-14-2006, 10:20 AM
It's really only testing to see if the drive *should* be made bootable. If not, it doesn't do it. Nothing to worry about.

hattorihanzo
03-14-2006, 08:17 PM
It's really only testing to see if the drive *should* be made bootable. If not, it doesn't do it. Nothing to worry about.

OK thanks. I checked the log, and it looked like the script checks for a system folder and if it's there, it makes it bootable. If it doesnt, then nothing is done and is not 'blessed'...

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo