PDA

View Full Version : ACL's not copied or not restored


richardl
03-05-2006, 12:08 AM
I just noticed this .. My ACL's were not restored (probably not saved during the cloning process). Broken? Or Broken As Designed?

Thanks

dnanian
03-05-2006, 10:40 AM
No, we definitely do save and restore ACLs, as long as ACLs are turned on for the source.

richardl
03-05-2006, 12:29 PM
Dave,

Is this new with v2? The clone I restored from was taken from SD v1.5.2 and I had to re-enable ACL's via fsaclctl and re-create the ACL's after the restore on a OS 10.4.5 system

I am now running SD v2.01

Thanks for a great product .. It has now saved me twice and am now a registered user.

dnanian
03-05-2006, 12:31 PM
That's right, it's new with v2. 1.5.2 certainly predated Tiger, and thus wouldn't even have known about ACLs.

Even 1.5.5, which was Tiger aware, used an API that -- to our surprise -- didn't copy ACLs. 2.0 corrected that, and 2.1 (when released) improves our ACL handling some more.