PDA

View Full Version : Disk Clone not showing up in Boot Startup list


richardl
03-04-2006, 04:38 PM
Well .. A repeat of an issue I had a few months ago .. B-Tree Catalog error .. and a 2STF/8/3: S-ATA Bus 0 master Hardware Diag error. Last time Apple had me reseat the disk which cleared up the Diag issue, but had to reformat the disk. No biggie since I had a clone of the disk. Well .. It happened again and the disk is totally gone. I booted with the Option key to get the Boot Selection screen .. I see my internal disk (which is bad); Install CD; Hardware Diag and my internal disk again. I do not see my Cloned disk (I run SuperDuper every night version 1.5?) I didn't see any errors during the cloning. I would love to boot off my clone until my disk replacement comes from Apple .. and Also to clone back to the new disk. Any help would be appreciated

Hmm .. I booted off the second 'RLR191' (The duplicate label of my internal disk) and it turned out it booted 'RLRBU1' which is my clone ..

dnanian
03-04-2006, 04:50 PM
The internal disk again is likely the backup -- give that one a try...

richardl
03-04-2006, 09:16 PM
Yup .. It was .. Just curious why it did not reflect the correct disk label

dnanian
03-05-2006, 10:15 AM
I'm not sure, Richard; we do tell Open Firmware to set the disk label "properly"... but wei'll re-check here.

Cuneyt
03-07-2006, 10:49 AM
I have exactly the same problem. Both drives (names and icons) are exactly the same. It seems that Open Firmware doesn't hear or do what you tell. :)

richardl
03-07-2006, 11:25 AM
Well .. It didn't work for 1.52 .. but seems to work fine with 2.01. My clone showed up in the boot list with the correct label.

Cuneyt
03-07-2006, 11:38 AM
I haven't fully erased my cloned drive after SD 2.0.1, I always did smart update. I wonder whether it would correct the problem if I do so with SD 2.0.1.

Cuneyt
03-11-2006, 07:28 PM
Problem fixed with the new (2.1) release.