PDA

View Full Version : Does SD need to be open all the time?


mdroyal
02-19-2006, 12:25 PM
I just started a regular backup schedule and am curious if SuperDuper! always needs to be open or will it do everything itself? The reason I ask is that this is our home computer and several people use it and as a courtesy we close apps before leaving and it may be tough to leave on.
Thanks,
Mike

dnanian
02-19-2006, 12:33 PM
Hi, Mike. SD! will start automatically when it's time to back up, and close when it's done (if it wasn't running already).

However, you must be logged in with the computer on for the backup to occur. You can set a "wake" event in the Energy Saver preference pane to wake a sleeping mac -- set it for a minute before your scheduled backup time.

mdroyal
02-19-2006, 02:35 PM
That's just what I needed to know. Thank you.