PDA

View Full Version : Scheduled backup problem


norman harris
01-28-2006, 03:26 AM
I really appreciate this feature.
However, lately the scheduled back up are not occuring because SD says it cannot find the volume to back up. The volume in question is the boot volume. The scheduled copies pane shows an error with the red font.
On the main SD pane, the space next to the Copy is blank. I can use the scroll arrows to select the boot volume. And that is where I leave it when I close SD. This used to work perfectly. Any idea why this changed?

Thanks.

dnanian
01-28-2006, 11:02 AM
Did anything change about the boot volume, Norman? Was it erased, adjusted with low-level tools, anything weird?

Regardless, the way to resolve the problem is to remove the scheduled item and re-create it... let me know if that works.

norman harris
01-28-2006, 01:02 PM
Dave-I deleted the scheduled back ups and recreated them. We'll see if that works. In this process I noticed something that has happened before-I cannot close the main SD pane-either from the menu bar or using the red button on the pane. In the past I have had to force quit. This is not related to the problem above. Is it? SD does not have to be open to perform a scheduled back up. Correct?

dnanian
01-28-2006, 10:04 PM
I don't think it's related, Norman, but if you can give me a reproducible case I'd certainly like to take a look.

SD! does not have to be running for a schedule to work. But you do have to be logged in, the active login, and the screen can't be locked.