Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:37 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
Starting over

Hello,

I have a sandbox running on my 74GB Raptor boot drive, and the normal volume is on an internal 400GB drive. My system has gradually been falling apart, and it's time to do a complete reinstall. Too many small, seemingly unrelated glitches to track down.

So I just want to make sure I set it up correctly again. Would I wipe out both drives, then reinstall OS X on the 400GB drive, update, etc. and then create a sandbox from that fresh install on the 74GB boot drive?

Also, has anyone else out there had trouble with the sandbox configuration? I've had some really bizarre issues, particularly with the Energy Saver control panel, that don't respond to normal troubleshooting steps. I've been using Macs for 20 years, so I'm not exactly a novice. But I wondered if the problems could be related to the way I've set up my drives (i.e. using a sandbox). Are there any known issues to be aware of?

Thanks for your help,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Chris.

I wouldn't destroy your base system. Instead, why not simply archive-and-install?

I've been using a Sandbox for many years, as you might expect, without any bizarre issues... Energy Saver is just controlled by a simple plist, so I don't know why it would be impacted.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2006, 09:58 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Hi, Chris.

I wouldn't destroy your base system. Instead, why not simply archive-and-install?

I've been using a Sandbox for many years, as you might expect, without any bizarre issues... Energy Saver is just controlled by a simple plist, so I don't know why it would be impacted.
Dave,

I guess I could try archiving & installing first. If I do that, would I then "Smart Update" the sandbox from the base system after I've archived & installed?

Thanks,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2006, 09:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yep, updating a sandbox is just like creating it: just use Smart Update and the appropriate Sandbox script.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2006, 10:03 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
thanks again dave. quick question: what do you mean by the appropriate sandbox script? i'm assuming i'd use "backup all files" and then "smart update during copy".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2006, 10:10 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, if the intention is to make a Sandbox, you'd use "Sandbox - shared users and applications", most likely. If the intention is to copy all files, that's not a Sandbox...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2006, 10:16 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
duh... right, my brain lapsed. thanks for your quick replies. much appreciated. chris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indexing, slow and non starting apps Budgie General 3 08-28-2005 04:52 PM
says Starting iTunes... but never fully connects noel General 1 06-12-2005 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.