Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:08 AM
Redwolf Redwolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Lockups - spinning beachball of DOOOM!

I've been a SuperDuper customer for a long while now. I have a Power Mac, dual 1Ghz mirror door. 80Gb main drive, 160Gb secondary w/ two 80Gb partitions. I back up the main to one of the secondary partitions.

Every once in a while, Superduper just chokes on the smart backup script, which I have running at 10am every day. It either chokes on preparing the backup drive, in which case I find the program is still "preparing" the drive for the past seven hours when I get home from work, or else it's choked during the backup process, near the end, and has locked up the entire computer with the spinning ball of doom.

The later requires a power off and reboot.

SMART says the target disk is good. Disk Utility says it's good, with no errors.

Once it starts locking up, the only way to clear the issue is to do a complete backup again, and it'll be good for a week or more.

SuperDuper is a great product, and has saved my butt after a OS update hosed the system. But I sure wish these lockups would go away.

yes, I'm running the latest version.

-Red
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:11 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Red.

SuperDuper! isn't actually locking up: the system is. And it's likely because your backup drive (or some other drive) has stopped responding to the system, so it's blocked in the kernel.

Are you certain your drives are set up properly using Cable Select? Are you running any low-level software -- antivirus, etc -- that might be contributing?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:15 PM
atebit atebit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
I also have a 13" MacBook with 1GB/80GB. I tried an initial backup via SuperDuper over the weekend to a FW 80GB Seagate drive. At some point in the process (wasn't watching it at the time), the system must have crashed cause I came back to a "gray" screen, and the system was not responsive. After rebooting there was nothing in the syslog, crash log or any SuperDuper application logs to indicate there was a problem. The backup on the FW disk wasn't complete, either.

While I ~was~ wathcing it, I did notice that throughput seemed to be monotonically decreasing, which I wasn't happy about, but maybe that was a symptom of the problem.

Again, love to buy the program if we can figure out what the issue might be.

Last edited by atebit; 07-17-2006 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:19 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It sounds to me like your system failed, atebit. As with the above user, are you running any low-level software that might be contributing to the problem?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:22 PM
atebit atebit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
No, this is a pretty much out-of the box MacBook, plus whatever OSX updates that were installed right after connecting it to the network. Is there any debugging I can turn on in SD to amp up the logging it does?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, not really. What I'd suggest is opening the system log in console and watching that carefully during the backup operation for clues.

Please realize that we're a "user level" application. We don't interact with the system at a low level, and can't really cause system crashes or hangs. We can trigger other things to fail, of course, but we can't really be the cause of the crash...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2006, 10:33 PM
atebit atebit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Understood. I'll give the console log a try...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2006, 01:55 AM
Redwolf Redwolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Hi, Red.

SuperDuper! isn't actually locking up: the system is. And it's likely because your backup drive (or some other drive) has stopped responding to the system, so it's blocked in the kernel.

Are you certain your drives are set up properly using Cable Select? Are you running any low-level software -- antivirus, etc -- that might be contributing?
Yes, it's set up using Cable Select - I goofed several years ago when I added the second drive, trying the Master/Slave setting. Cable Select is the only way you can get the drives recognized.

No, I'm not running any low-level software that I'm aware of. (I'll run anti-virus when we get some viruses to worry about)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2006, 07:43 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. What about external drives and network mounts?

If you're not running any low-level software of note, it's likely you have a hardware problem. It could be all sorts of things, unfortunately, and diagnosing it without the machine is difficult at best.

It might help if you could get things into the exact setup you usually use during backups (especially failed ones), and then generate a System Profiler report. To do so, run System Profiler, choose File > Save and then save in the default (XML) format. Once done, Control-click the resulting file and choose "Create archive...", then take the ZIP file generated and send it into support. I'll take a look.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.