Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:11 PM
george george is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
volume names missing

attempts to boot to Backup/Sandbox volumes leave me with all three (org/bckup/sbox) icons but no volume names at the OPT-login screen. proceeding to boot to either volume succeeds. at Finder/Desktop mount, all volume icons/names appear correctly.

Any idea where the volume names have gotten to at boottime?

iMac, OSX1039, SD2.1, laCie extFWHD. applejack/safebooted prior to Smart Backups.

Last edited by george; 05-10-2006 at 11:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's weird, George. But they boot OK? Must be some weird OpenFirmware thing: we do set the icons and names with bless as we're supposed to, as far as I know...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:40 PM
george george is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
yes, they all boot as expected. (not at mac at present so will triple check in future) tks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:49 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. See what happens if you choose the drive from the Startup Disk preference pane. It might set things up differently, especially under 10.3.x (as opposed to 10.4.x)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2006, 04:59 PM
george george is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
it's a wrap.

further investigation has not lead to any definitive answer regarding the disappearance of volume names at the OPT-login screen. at the same time, after multiple Backups and Smart Updates during testing, this occurance seems to have disappeared altogether. for the time being, a watchful eye will be kept open but case rested. tkyou. george

Last edited by george; 05-14-2006 at 10:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BU to network volume Vance Fox General 1 03-14-2006 07:03 PM
Missing Fonts error after recovering from backup rcs General 8 01-27-2006 01:06 PM
Backup to a network mounted volume wduck2 General 1 01-11-2006 01:34 AM
SD V2 not being able to save settings bammi General 1 12-01-2005 11:35 AM
Cannot find target volume -- Even with volume mounted! cmod General 3 06-03-2005 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.