Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2006, 05:58 PM
Tom Tom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Back up all files?

I would like to get clear on this point:

"If you choose a destination volume that already has files on it, those files may be overwritten by the backup operation. The exact behavior of SuperDuper! is defined by the During copy section of Options..., discussed below."

Does this mean that if I have various folders on an EX HD, that the first time I clone my HD to the EX HD, SuperDuper will erase the various folders?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:07 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, it will. However, there are solutions to this. Please see the section of the User's Guide entitled "Storing a backup alongside other files on a destination volume", linked right off the first page of the User's Guide.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:21 PM
Tom Tom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Ok, so I can use a sparse image without partitioning.

Do I understand that I can then use smart update to udate the image
and all other folders will remain untouched?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:24 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's right, the action of Smart Update is isolated to the destination volume which -- in this case -- is the image.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:37 PM
Tom Tom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Sorry to keep bugging you.
I have set it up to create an image on an EX HD.
However I still see:
"Pressing "Copy Now" will first erase LaCie160." (the name I gave it)

Should I ignore this?
Thanks.

Wait, now I'm confused I'll post back later.

Ok, I think I've got it.
Never mind.

Last edited by Tom; 03-20-2006 at 06:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. Glad you've figured it out, Tom.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:22 PM
Tom Tom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
One more question.
Step 3. After Successful Copy.
How long is the, Creating ASR Image of... step supposed to last?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:26 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you're creating an image, you're trying to image an image, which won't work. Click Stop. Your sparse image will be fine; please uncheck the "Image" option in the Advanced tab of options... you don't want to do that.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:31 PM
Tom Tom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
I see.
Well, everything looks good.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back up issues (slow) boboso General 5 08-11-2005 01:36 PM
SuperDuper! Erasing Audio Files? Emerson General 3 06-22-2005 01:41 PM
backing up specific files and folders winni2 General 1 05-04-2005 08:41 AM
Script to only back up operating system files wiselou General 5 05-01-2005 11:38 PM
How do I back up to a volume that has files on it? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 05-02-2004 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.