Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:40 AM
Keebler Keebler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Can SD do the following?

Hi Folks,

I'm a long time retrospect user looking to switch to SDuper, given its awesome reviews and what appears to be a very friendly UI.

Before I make the plunge, I have a few quick, important questions:
1. Can i configure SD to configure specific folders on multiple drives (all on 1 Mac). Would this be in the SmartUpdate I keep hearing about?

2. Can I configure the smartupdate to delete files from my backup which are/were erased from my specified folders? for example, I'm using Retrospect to bup my Iphoto and Itunes. When I make changes to files within Itunes (ie. by adding album artwork etc)..., Retro treats the changed file like a 'new' file, therefore duplicating the files and sucking up valuable HD space. In essence, my backup set is not identical to my original folders.

Thanks in advance. I downloaded the trial version, but since i can't access the smartupdate until I pay for a full version, i'm trying to find the answers. I realize it's only $30, but i'm on a limited budget so i need to know before I buy.

Cheerios,
Keebler
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:58 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Keebler. I'm not sure what you mean in question 1: "configure specific folders on multiple drives (all on 1 Mac)"... huh?

Smart Update definitely removes files from the destination that are removed from the source. See the pretty thorough description of how it -- and the other "During copy" methods -- work in the User's Guide.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:01 AM
Keebler Keebler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
oops

Hi Dave,

Sorry for the confusion.

Here is what I mean:

I have 3 or 4 folders, on 2 internal HDs:
1. Iphoto is on HD A
2. Itunes is on HD B
3. Album artwork is on HD B

Can I choose all 3 to be backed up to the same folder? I'll d-check the user's guide as you suggested just in case. I'm a putz for not thinking of looking there too.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:10 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Ah. Well, they can, but not in a way that would delete other items. In general, I'd suggest a 1:1 ratio between source and destination volumes. You want to dedicate the volume to the purpose of backing up, not mix things up.

Note that you can also use a sparse image to store a volume in a file that can be placed in a folder. The 'guide has info on that, too.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:17 AM
Keebler Keebler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
i'll check into it

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Ah. Well, they can, but not in a way that would delete other items. In general, I'd suggest a 1:1 ratio between source and destination volumes. You want to dedicate the volume to the purpose of backing up, not mix things up.

Note that you can also use a sparse image to store a volume in a file that can be placed in a folder. The 'guide has info on that, too.
Thanks Dave. I'll check into the sparse image idea. I know my methods may seem weird, but there is a madness...the madness of my backup HD being smaller than my source HD. doh! I end up using the source for other stuff, when I shouldn't, but can't help it. one day, I may just learn to smarten up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Backup drives are pretty cheap these days -- if you value your time, and the hassle you put yourself through to get this to work, you might find that the $100 or so you'll have to spend to get something of sufficient size is a bargain!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2006, 12:19 PM
Keebler Keebler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
oh i know :)

Thanks Dave. Yup. I agree with the HD purchase. I have 6 externals, but they're all used. i may score another one very soon.
thanks for all your help. i appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2006, 12:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No problem at all, and best of luck.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.