Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2006, 03:01 PM
drbonbi drbonbi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
How to avoid FW external hard drives that don't boot! and other thoughts

Hello,

I have a new 20" iMacIntel and I was looking for a Universal backup
application. I'm glad I waited (and paid) for Super Duper! 2.1. In
short, it just works!

A couple of thoughts. The Users Guide - which is integrated with the
application, a nice touch - notes the desirability of FireWire external
hard drives that do boot (Some don't! Worse. Some claim to and don't!) and mentions a few brands by name - which got me to thinking.

First, MacWorld did a review in September 2005 of external FW hard drives here
http://www.macworld.com/2005/09/revi...drivesdesktop/ which
reveals which drives don't boot PowerPC Macs (a revelation to me). While
that URL will become obsolete over time, it may be a good reference for
anyone wanting to get more information.

Second, some of the drive brands recommended in the User's Guide come
boxed with Retrospect Express, a dubious distinction which may add to
the sales price. Some FW external HDs do not come with bundled backup software. I chose a MicroNet miniMate 80 GB FW hard drive to use with my iMacIntel. I did exactly as recommended in the Users Guide. I reformatted it as a GUID drive, and used the Migration Assistant to clone my iMac drive (which had been in turn migrated from my prior PowerPC iMac). Today I used the Smart Update Backup and it updated the external drive perfectly. And it boots! Life is good.



Dana
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:29 PM
MMM MMM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 98
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi
the desirability of FireWire external hard drives that do boot (Some don't! Worse. Some claim to and don't!)
It's the chip that the enclosure uses that determines if it will boot under Firewire in OS X. All enclosures that use the Oxford 911 or 922 chip will boot. Cheaper enclosures that use the Prolific chip (rev A and B) will not boot all the time. Supposedly Prolific has fixed the problems with their chips in rev. C, but I can't find anyone that can verify it. If the chip says Eon on it, then it's made by Prolific.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2006, 10:17 PM
DaleMeyn DaleMeyn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stafford county, VA
Posts: 53
More thoughts on selecting HDs

This was recently posted by MMM, responding to a post by drbonbi:
“It's the chip that the enclosure uses that determines if it will boot under Firewire in OS X. All enclosures that use the Oxford 911 or 922 chip will boot. Cheaper enclosures that use the Prolific chip (rev A and B) will not boot all the time. Supposedly Prolific has fixed the problems with their chips in rev. C, but I can't find anyone that can verify it. If the chip says Eon on it, then it's made by Prolific.”

I had a Iomega Black Series 120GB FW/USB HD (purchased Jan 06) which had a Prolific chipset (revision number unknown), it booted every time I tried it under OS 10.4.5, on an iMac G5 iSight.
So the short answer is, yes, the latest Prolific bridges will boot, every time. However, the Iomega still had problems. It wouldn’t reliably mount to the desktop after prolonged computer sleep or shut down (when used as a backup volume, not startup). Sometimes it would seem to mount, showing its icon on the desktop, but wouldn’t be detected by SD! unless I double clicked on the icon, after which SD! recognized it. This happened about 1 of 3 or 4 wakeups or startups. Sometimes the only way to get the HD to mount was to unplug the AC/DC adapter at the power strip, then replug it. Also, it didn’t pay much attention to computer sleep or even shut down, the drive just kept humming. The only way to turn it off (short of unplugging the AC power) was to eject the HD icon, then pull the FW connector, then push the power button on the HD, whereupon the drive would power down. It did perform reliably in USB2.0 mode, however, and that was the only way to use it for scheduled automatic updates. If I tried auto scheduled updating in FW mode, sometimes it would refuse to mount when the iMac was awakened, and SD! would shut down, or Finder would freeze.
I finally gave it to my son-in-law (he has a new Dell PC) and got a Micronet FW/USB 250GB HD with the Oxford 911 chipset, it works beautifully.
I remember reading a lot of discussion that Panther up to 10.3.6 worked well with Prolific but not with Oxford, whereas 10.3.7 and up worked with Oxford but had problems with Prolific (is this accurate, Dave?). My advice is, if you’re running 10.4.x, don’t fool with any HD using the Prolific chipset, stick with Oxford 911 (FW400) or 922 (FW800). If you're running Panther or earlier, get a drive with Oxford, making sure the vendor can supply a firmware update for it, or update the OS to 10.3.7, or Tiger. It is very difficult, unfortunately, to discover which chipset any given HD or enclosure series has. I was lucky with the Micronet, they actually gave that info in their product WEB page. Just because a vendor claims its HD is compatible with Power Macs and OS X, doesn’t mean it will work reliably with every version of OS X. Caveat emptor. Dale Meyn.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2006, 10:33 PM
MMM MMM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 98
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleMeyn
So the short answer is, yes, the latest Prolific bridges will boot, every time.
Thanks Dale for verifying that. Glad Prolific finally got that fixed in revision C
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I've been reliably using Oxford bridges since Jaguar. There was a problem in the Jaguar -> Panther update if you didn't update your Firmware first, but other than that things have been going quite well.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.