Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:53 PM
leejoramo leejoramo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Backup a specific folder

How do I tell SuperDuper to backup just a specified folder? For example, lets say that I want to just backup my document folder /Macintosh HD/Users/myuser/Documents/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:08 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You'd use a copy script, Lee. Basically:

- Choose File > New Copy Script
- Enter a description in the first tab -- this appears in the WGTH? section
- Include "Exclude all files" in the 2nd tab
- Add your folder to the 3rd tab
- Save with an appropriate name, and choose instead of "Backup - all files" (or whatever you're using) in the main window

That's all there is to it. NOTE, though, that if you use Smart Update, everything except this folder will be removed from the destination volume. If you're doing this to outsmart Smart Update and "speed up" an update by selecting a subset of your files to partially update on an existing backup, it won't have the effect you want...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:30 PM
berenhand berenhand is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
You'd use a copy script, Lee. Basically:

- Choose File > New Copy Script
- Enter a description in the first tab -- this appears in the WGTH? section
- Include "Exclude all files" in the 2nd tab
- Add your folder to the 3rd tab
- Save with an appropriate name, and choose instead of "Backup - all files" (or whatever you're using) in the main window

That's all there is to it. NOTE, though, that if you use Smart Update, everything except this folder will be removed from the destination volume. If you're doing this to outsmart Smart Update and "speed up" an update by selecting a subset of your files to partially update on an existing backup, it won't have the effect you want...

I am glad to have SuperDuper for cloning and incremental backups. I also want to make specific incremental backups of some directories to DVD RAM and before going shopping for the cheapest but friendliest backup software I thought I would check if SuperDuper is already that software? And if so how would I proceed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Alas, sorry: we're not designed to back up to Optical media (although, if the DVD-RAM was formatted as HFS+, it *might* work...)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 06:50 PM
Request for help with an AppleScript to run two SD SmartUpdates emikysa General 2 10-13-2005 12:10 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM
Backup folder to folder mortenosx General 1 04-30-2005 05:42 PM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.