Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2013, 12:01 PM
RobertJ RobertJ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
SD Won't overwrite 10.8.5

I have two drives, call them A and B. I installed Mavericks on A. B has a clone of A from two weeks ago with 10.8.5.

When I try to do a Smart Update of A -> B, Get Info says after the clone that the OS is 10.8.5.

I have used this before with earlier OS's. Do I need to Wipe drive B?


EDIT: Both drives are internal to my Mac Pro.

EDIT/EDIT: A has 35G and B has 29G used.

Last edited by RobertJ; 10-27-2013 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2013, 12:26 PM
RobertJ RobertJ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Question

Part of mystery solved.

Rebooted and B now says 10.9 in Get Info; however,

A has 35G used

B has 29G used

I also verified this using Disk Utility

EDIT: The Mavericks installer is about 5G. Is it possible it didn't get deleted and is still lurking on A?

EDIT/EDIT: Looked at all the directories on A & B (Applications, Library, System & Users). They are each identical in size and add up to about 29.4G. Seems there is a large hidden "something" on A of about 5G.

EDIT/EDIT/EDIT: Turned off invisibility and again looked at the directories in A & B. Found that the "private" directory on A has 3.25G whereas the "private" directory on B has 950M. That would account for about 2.3G of the 5G difference. I would assume that SD would clone all directories including "private". ???

Last edited by RobertJ; 10-27-2013 at 01:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2013, 02:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's caches, sleep images (which is in private), swap files, etc. Nothing to worry about.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2013, 02:42 PM
RobertJ RobertJ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
It's caches, sleep images (which is in private), swap files, etc. Nothing to worry about.
Thanks. Little things like this drive me crazy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overwrite new install with clone to recover program joec General 1 11-20-2007 08:49 AM
Should I overwrite my entire backup or modify the original? doofmaczemy General 5 09-06-2007 10:53 PM
Overwrite folder, from Clueless 33Nick General 2 11-11-2006 12:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.