Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2011, 03:16 PM
ramonekalsaw ramonekalsaw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Why Time Machine if You Have SuperDuper

Why would I want to use TimeMachine when I have SuperDuper? In comparison, TM seems redundant, and takes extra time and resources to manage.

What am I missing?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2011, 03:20 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,337
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Please see the "Time's Arrow" posts at the Shirt Pocket Blog, where I explain why they're both useful.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2011, 04:26 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonekalsaw View Post
Why would I want to use TimeMachine when I have SuperDuper?
TM recently allowed me to recover nearly all of the substantial, time consuming Address Book changes I'd made and then triggered a bug that kept AB from opening properly. It was still easy enough to remember and redo the few others from there.

It's the first and only time I've needed a TM backup but whatever time and resources it had used up to then were worth even that single payoff compared to how much burden it would have been to attempt recreating an entire loss of changes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2011, 04:57 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,337
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yep. There are definitely things (AB is one) that TM works very well with (and have specific support for it, too)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2011, 12:02 PM
GrayFox GrayFox is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Here is what happened to me one time...

Evidently the OS become corrupted in a way that would
cause a reboot to fail, but the machine still ran.

When Super Duper cloned the main disk it copied the
corruption to the backup.

When I reboot the machine and it failed, I tried rebooting
from the SuperDuper clone which also failed.

I had to restore the OS from the Distribution CD and then pull
files from the backup disk.

I *think* Time Machine would allow one to *possibly* go back
far enough to escape the corruption.

Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2011, 12:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,337
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it wouldn't, Jerry. The way to recover from that would be to clean install OSX, then - when prompted to 'copy from another Mac', you can either restore from TM or from SD... basically, the same thing.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2011, 12:43 PM
xbytor xbytor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
This is a relatively fresh and related thread, so I'll post here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
The way to recover from that would be to clean install OSX, then - when prompted to 'copy from another Mac', you can either restore from TM or from SD... basically, the same thing.

Useful info. Thanks. I gather, however, that doing a restore from TM could be a painfully long process.

I have one other scenario. My current config for my System/Apps drive is to have TM do it's hourly incremental thing and have SD run twice a day. I have had cases where my primary drive failed and I had to boot of the SD drive to fix things. Work great.

My question is what is the best way to pick up any incremental changes from TM since the last SD sync? My first approach would be to run find(1) to locate any files on the TM volume that had been modified/created since my last SD sync. This would make it easier to recover stuff like my mailboxes and what-not that happen to be stored on the same drive. It would also make tracking down the problem that caused the crash if it were, in fact, a software problem.

Any ideas?

BTW, I keep all of my other work files on a set of mirrored/snapshotted/rsync'd ZFS drives. My backup needs there are quite a bit different and it's a lot more data to deal with.

Last edited by xbytor; 04-13-2011 at 12:46 PM. Reason: forgot to mention the ZFS part
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2011, 12:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,337
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You could try going into TimeMachine and searching by date - might give you useful info...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2011, 09:59 PM
xbytor xbytor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
searching by date...
Ah. OK. I didn't know about the time parameters to Spotlight searches. Unfortunately, I don't use Spotlight so I may be out of luck here. Thanks for the tip, though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-2011, 06:14 PM
terryf terryf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth, Dorset, England
Posts: 2
Belt n Braces?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:13 PM
xbytor xbytor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryf View Post
Belt n Braces?
Some call it 'paranoia'.

I can say, though, that I've never lost more than an hour of work even in the face of multiple system/user failures. Sometimes recovery took more than an hour, however.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-15-2011, 03:12 PM
terryf terryf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth, Dorset, England
Posts: 2
Not paranoia, peace of mind ())
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
time machine


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine Copy jerrykrinock General 1 04-02-2010 02:36 PM
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 08:55 AM
Using SuperDuper for an offsite Time Machine backup toy General 1 07-26-2008 01:02 PM
Time Machine stopped working - SuperDuper involved? adriansmith General 18 02-20-2008 04:48 PM
Will Time Machine make SuperDuper obsolete? JAC II General 9 11-07-2007 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.