Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > netTunes > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2004, 01:17 PM
tgibbs tgibbs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 13
display problem

Twice I've had a problem where netTunes client display is mangled. There are a lot of parallel horizontal lines, reminiscent of scan lines on a TV. Other than that, NetTunes and the remote iTunes seemed to function normally. Quitting and restarting the client did not help, but resetting the computer the server resides upon restored the display to normal. Since my server computer is headless, I can't say whether the display on its own monitor is also mangled.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2004, 02:16 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, this kind of thing can happen if the video buffer is being rapidly updated at the same time we're copying data from it. For example, if the visualizer is running, it's writing to the display so quickly that it's hard to capture one "update" before another one has been written to it by the GPU.

During normal operation, though, you shouldn't ever see this kind of thing. Have you tried rebooting the headless server?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2004, 02:40 PM
tgibbs tgibbs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Well, this kind of thing can happen if the video buffer is being rapidly updated at the same time we're copying data from it. For example, if the visualizer is running, it's writing to the display so quickly that it's hard to capture one "update" before another one has been written to it by the GPU.

During normal operation, though, you shouldn't ever see this kind of thing. Have you tried rebooting the headless server?
Yes, rebooting the server cleared it up both times. Note that this is only two instances in several months, so it isn't a major problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2004, 02:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Very strange; it could be that things suddenly slowed down a lot... I'm not really sure, since it's never been reported before. You didn't notice anything else weird?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:12 PM
tgibbs tgibbs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Very strange; it could be that things suddenly slowed down a lot... I'm not really sure, since it's never been reported before. You didn't notice anything else weird?
No, I was able to import a disk at about the normal speed, and while the display was difficult to read, I could see that it was updating at a reasonable rate. Rescaling the NetTunes window did not result in the black lines changing width or merging, so I don't think that they were in the original screen image. I could even see them on the thumbnail in the netTunes Servers window.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2004, 04:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, you'd definitely be able to see them in the thumbnail, which uses the same base data. The problem wasn't on the client, as such -- it was on the server.

I've really never seen this on my own headless server, but I'll definitely keep a look out. Very strange!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unintended Access Problem? natethebobo General 3 05-01-2004 06:19 PM
Apple Software Update problem after using SuperDuper ctolgc General 5 01-28-2004 03:32 PM
Problem running Backup - all files script? Here's a solution! dnanian General 0 01-12-2004 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.