Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2010, 09:46 PM
stevenjo57 stevenjo57 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Upgraded hard drive not recognized

Used Super Duper to make a bootable copy of my iMac (Intel) to a FireWire drive. I tested it - it booted fine from the external FireWire with the backup.

I purchased 2 internal Western Digital 1 TB hard drives to upgrade both of my iMacs.

I installed the new WD in the first one. Upon booting with the new Internal HD and the FireWire backup hooked up, no hard drive is found. Just the folder with a question mark.

I booted with the Snow Leopard install disks and it did not see the internal, but did see the SD backup.

Thinking it might be the drive, I tried the other new WD. Exact same situation. Neither drive is recognized as bootable, and the internal WD is not even recognized.

Needing my iMac, I put the original drive back in. Everything is now working fine again.

So, I think I am hooking the drives up correctly, but the iMac cannot seem to recognize the internal WDs at all, and when the new WDs are in, the external FW isn't recognized as bootable.

Do I need to do something to make these drives recognizable?

Thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2010, 07:52 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well... starting with the basics, are you sure the drives were properly partitioned, as explained in the Frequently Asked Questions?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2010, 07:58 PM
stevenjo57 stevenjo57 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Which FAQ?

Hi Dave. Thank you very much for your reply.

I must admit that sometimes I don't see the forest for the trees, and so maybe this is the case here.

If I have an external SATA drive that I want to copy data to, how do I initialize or format it if the Mac doesn't recognize that the drive is in it?

Are you saying I should put in some kind of external case or something?

If it would boot from the external firewire drive, maybe I could see using disk utility to see if it sees the internal drive, but when the new external drive is in the iMac, the iMac won't boot from the external firewire either.

Thanks for any help. I appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2010, 09:24 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, you'd generally put it in an external case. But if it's internal, you can try booting from the OSX DVD and use Disk Utility to partition it there. If it won't even boot from DVD when the drive is internal, I think you have a hardware compatibility issue.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive crash - advice sought snpollack General 6 04-08-2010 05:42 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Formatting an external hard drive for both Mac and PC Mary Grimsley General 5 11-25-2006 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.