Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2010, 10:33 AM
snpollack snpollack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Unhappy Hard drive crash - advice sought

Hello.

I have been using SuperDuper (SD) for many years to help keep my anxiety level at a manageable level. Over the past 6 years or so, I have only had to invoke SD once due to a hard drive crash.

Today, it seems, I might need SD again. Let me explain my setup. I have a MacPro which runs off of my main internal drive (#1). I have SD make nightly backups to internal drive #2 (at 1AM) and to an external drive (at 4AM). I also have Time Machine (TM) make incremental backups of my main drive every hour.

Last evening, apparently during the SD backup to internal drive #2, during the repair permissions of internal drive #1 step (I use repair permissions before every SD copy), drive #1 must have failed. Maybe a bad sector was encountered during the repair permissions step. Therefore, I have a SD backup that is 24 hours old and a TM backup that is 1 hour old.

I woke up this morning to a frozen screen saver screen and I could hear the internal drive making the sickening intermittent clicking sound of the r/w head trying to access the disk.

I was able to reboot on internal drive #2, but I want to recreate drive #1. I am going to purchase a new drive, but I'm trying to figure out whether I should use SD or TM (or a combination) to restore to the new drive #1. The last time I had to do this, TM didn't even exist (I think I was running Panther).

I'd like to get back to as close as my previous state as possible (with proper prefs, passwords, desktop layout, etc.). What do you suggest as my most appropriate step(s)? I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.3.

Thanks in advance!

Stu
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2010, 10:38 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's really up to you, Stu. You can certainly restore with Time Machine, and if you don't like the result, restore your SuperDuper! backup and selectively restore what you're 'missing' with Time Machine. Or you can just do the latter... totally up to you.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2010, 11:01 AM
snpollack snpollack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Thanks for the quick reply, Dave.

Are there any significant differences between the two methods (e.g., speed of restore & completeness of restore with respect to preferences, os configuration, etc.)?

Also, once I get my main drive restored, will I need to recopy the newly restored drive #1 to my two SD backup drives or can I just pick up with smart updates (I suspect the former will be necessary)?

Thanks.

Stu
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2010, 11:07 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's certainly faster to restore with SD... and you can resume with Smart Update regardless (although you'll have to delete and recreate your schedules).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2010, 01:40 PM
snpollack snpollack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Ok. I just got home with the new HD. I decided to use SD for the restore, since I've always trusted it, and don't know what surprises I will have with TM. I might just use TM for restoring the few files that changed in the last day.

Now, can you please refresh my memory for the steps needed to accomplish this restore from HD#2 (my SD backup) to my new HD#1 (which doesn't appear yet - I think I must have to initialize it).

I'm not sure if I use the SD interface and select Restore - All Files option from HD#2 to HD#1 or if I use the Disk Utility restore option.

Thanks. I'll let you know how it goes.

Stu

Last edited by snpollack; 04-08-2010 at 01:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2010, 03:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Partition it as explained in the Frequently Asked Questions, and use SuperDuper! to "Restore - all files" from the backup to the new drive. Name the new drive the same thing the old drive was named, and start up from it... the end!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2010, 05:42 PM
snpollack snpollack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Well, it worked. Yay!

For some reason, I must have lost some Little Snitch rules, since it is asking me for some connection authorizations I hadn't seen before (though, legitimate ones).

Now, if I could only find out what things to copy over from my TM backup during the last day...

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Partition external hard drive chrisjames03 General 1 04-23-2009 06:04 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Formatting an external hard drive for both Mac and PC Mary Grimsley General 5 11-25-2006 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.