Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2010, 01:04 PM
sgmorr sgmorr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 16
How to Have SD and Time Machine on same External HD?

Hi,

I'm about to upgrade from my trusty old iMac G4 to a brand new iMac 21.5 inch with 1 TB internal HD. I'll be going from PPC Tiger to Intel Snow Leopard. I haven't yet decided whether to do a pure manual migration of files and reinstallation of software or to give Migration Assistant a try. I've read lots of mixed opinions. Currently I have a full bootable backup of my Tiger installation on an external HD which I maintain of course with SD.

Another question or two:

--What size new peripheral HD should I buy? I want to continue to keep a bootable clone with SD and also want to use Time Machine.

--Do I need to partition the new external and use one partition for SD and one for Time Machine? I think I've seen reference to being able to do this with one partition but I don't know how. Does this mean I'd need a 2 TB external to keep both SD and Time Machine on it?

--Whick backup should I do first on the external HD? Should I clone my new internal drive to it or should I let Time Machine do its thing first?

Thanks very much for any and all suggestions!

Steve M.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2010, 06:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'd suggest a 2TB external (high quality, don't get a WD external).

Please see the FAQ about storing TM and SD! backups side by side (in the Frequently Asked Questions section of the SD! forum -- Help > Frequently Asked Questions inside SUperDuper).

Doesn't matter which you do first.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:01 PM
TXCiclista TXCiclista is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
I'd like some clarification on this. The FAQ says to use Smart Backup, but Smart Backup specifically says: "will erase and copy what's needed to make Backup identical to your selections from <volume>." This is somewhat vague to me. Is the key in the word "selections," in the sense that there is no Time Machine sparsebundle on my source drive and, as such, it can't be selected so SD ignores the sparsebundle on the destination drive?

If this is true, does it means that I can create as many "extra" folders on the destination drive as I want and SD will safely ignore them unless there is a folder with the same name & path on the source drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Absolutely not. Time Machine is handled specially, and is specifically called out in the "What's going to happen?" section of the UI for special treatment.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:43 PM
sgmorr sgmorr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I'd suggest a 2TB external (high quality, don't get a WD external).

Please see the FAQ about storing TM and SD! backups side by side (in the Frequently Asked Questions section of the SD! forum -- Help > Frequently Asked Questions inside SUperDuper).

Doesn't matter which you do first.
Dave, thanks for all the info. I've got one question more. I know you are not in the business of recommending hardware, but...

I've heard stories about problems with WD drives before, but my local Apple Store is selling lots of them now and saying the problems are fixed. I'm not about to buy a WD anyway. But the market for externals is so confusing. Can you give a friendly recommendation say of three good externals--I'm looking for 1-2 TB with Firewire and USB. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
See the thread at the top of the section.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using SuperDuper to copy time machine from external hard drive to time capsule MadCow General 9 08-14-2009 02:16 PM
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 07:55 AM
Error 18 in Time Machine.... iith096 General 4 10-20-2008 03:57 PM
Using SuperDuper for an offsite Time Machine backup toy General 1 07-26-2008 12:02 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.