Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2009, 03:19 PM
garboczi garboczi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
filevault

I have a SD! clone of my 10.4.11 Powerbook 17" G4 1 GHz disk.

The organization that I work for upgraded the Powerbook to 10.5.8, turned on FileVault, and changed my login username. While they were doing that, I booted another laptop with the clone and kept on working.

Now, a week later, the upgraded and filevaulted powerbook is back. The clone that I have been using with the other laptop has new files on it. I would like to update the powerbook with the clone.

Can I do this with SD!?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2009, 03:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can certainly restore the entire copy to the drive, and then re-FileVault, but you can't really keep things as they are on the returned Mac unless you're ok with manually copying the (I assume) few changed files over by hand.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2010, 06:16 PM
garboczi garboczi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Now I'm really going to do this.
The Leopard powerbook is un-FileVaulted.
The external bootable Tiger disk has all the new files from the last month.
I'd like to Smart Update the Leopard powerbook with the Tiger disk.

What commands should I give SD!? Will Superduper know not to copy Tiger system files to the Leopard disk?

thanks,
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2010, 09:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Um, no. As I said in my previous message, you can't really do this effectively without manually copying the files.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FileVault not copying jondear General 5 08-17-2009 01:41 PM
FileVault documentation/feature request mwolczko General 1 09-16-2007 08:51 AM
SD taking *extremely* long when FileVault volumes are present jrychter General 3 07-03-2007 08:42 AM
FileVault account not opening allen.c General 5 05-16-2007 07:09 AM
Filevault protection Brent General 3 09-30-2006 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.