Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2009, 10:23 AM
Kalkas Kalkas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Restoring from sparsebundle / sparseimage using SuperDuper

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Sure. Open the image, select its mounted bundle and copy it like any other.
I am not quite sure how to rstore from sparsebundle /sparseimage using SD.

How do I open the image? Shall I open with the DisImageMounter? "Select its munted bundle?"

I am not sure whether the guide gives instructions about restoring the whole disk from sparsebundle /sparseimage.

Can someone give step by step instructions about restoration from sparseimage/bundle using SD?

Thanks.

Alex
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2009, 11:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The instructions are in the User's Guide under "Recovering from a disaster".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2009, 11:35 AM
Kalkas Kalkas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Question

Hello,

I am afraid that it is not written in the guide how to restore a system from a sparseimage/bundle using SD. What is written is how to restore by using Disk Utility. I am not interested to restore by Disk Utility because Disk Utility changes the name of the volumes; see the old thread where I addressed this issue.

Could you please explain how to restore from a sparseimage/bundle using SD. You said that the image has to be opened. OK. But how? And then what? I have some ideas how to do it, but I am not sure, so that's why I ask in this forum.

I would appreciate if someone would help me with my request.

Kind regards,
Aleksandar
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2009, 12:37 PM
Kalkas Kalkas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Question

Hello again,

OK, as I said, I have some ideas how to restore from a sparseimage/bundle by using SD, but I am not sure if it is correct way to do it.

Here is what I think.

I open (mount) the sparseimage/bundle with DiskImageMounter application. I get a mounted disk.

Next, I open the SD, and choose the mounted image as the source, while as a destination I choose the disk that I wish to be owerwritten. (In my case, it is the disk on my MacBook Pro, where all system files reside).

Is this the correct way to do, and will the disk I choose as a destination be totally overwritten with the content of the mounted disk?

Kind regards,
Aleksandar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2009, 01:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's exactly what to do.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2009, 01:30 PM
Kalkas Kalkas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Smile

Thanks for your reply confirming that I was on the right track.

Kind regards,
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2009, 08:03 AM
JoBoy JoBoy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Do you use the Smart Update option?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2009, 11:34 PM
aplnub aplnub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
I restored from a sparse bundle tonight for the first time. The manual could use an update on this and a mention that you can start up on a pocket drive install instead of the startup disk.
__________________
QC i7 iMac and unibody MB 13" Aluminum armed with SuperDuper!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-03-2009, 12:00 AM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by aplnub View Post
The manual could use an update on this and a mention that you can start up on a pocket drive install instead of the startup disk.
Actually, if your system's booting/booted from a pocket drive then it's considered the current startup disk (or, more specifically, startup volume). There can be more than one startup disk/volume.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restoring from sparseimage backup - what went wrong? mastertantoo General 6 11-25-2009 07:45 AM
Restoring from sparsebundle / sparseimage Kalkas General 3 09-27-2009 01:17 PM
Superduper fails after upgrade to Snow Leopard josephc General 2 09-12-2009 10:18 PM
Restoring from sparseimage file on NAS drive jackhm General 3 02-25-2008 11:36 AM
Restoring SuperDuper Itself? mattbroad General 1 11-10-2007 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.