Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2009, 12:31 AM
mleinart mleinart is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
sparseimage gets bigger and bigger after every SmartUpdate

So I've been backing up to the same sparseimage (located on a network drive) about once a month for the past few months. Over that time, the amount of space used by my drive has remained about the same - between 50 and 60G. When I first created the image, it was the same size as the drive. Now I noticed before backing up that it was about 90G (after last backup). After running another backup today, it's 94G. It appears that SmartUpdate is only adding and not erasing as it should.

Does anyone else see this? Running 2.6 (v85)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2009, 12:50 AM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
It's normal behavior. You have to compact sparse images to regain unused space. Here's an old Macworld article about it:

Ease sparse disk image compaction

Same also applies to sparse image bundles added in Leopard.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2009, 08:03 PM
RobLewis RobLewis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 29
Here's the short answer:

In Terminal, enter this command:

hdiutil compact "Name of your backup.sparseimage"

Then go do something else for a while.
As noted above, sparse images can grow by themselves, but they need help to shrink.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2009, 09:15 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, more like "path-to-your-backup-image" (you can drag the image file into Terminal and it'll type out the path for you).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2009, 10:44 AM
mleinart mleinart is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Ah ok, that makes a lot of sense. Would be real nice if I could do the compact in linux too but that doesn't look to be the case. I'll just have to make sure to compact it every few backups.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD does not erase sparseimage patrickmast General 9 09-02-2007 09:54 AM
SmartUpdate backup is GBs bigger than my hard drive! abegel General 1 10-08-2006 05:49 PM
Disk Image size a lot bigger than the backup size SpaceRoger General 3 03-15-2006 03:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.