Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2009, 03:30 AM
Schniggle Schniggle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
How can I see, if the backup is still in progress or if it failed?

Hi all,

I've been using SD for quite a while. Nice programm.

Now scenario is this: I try to copy a 1TB drive to another 1TB drive. The first is connected via FireWire800 to my MBP. The second is connected to the first drive. I had this running over night (of course it takes a while).

BUT: Now this morning I find it after 10hours of work stating this:
6,08GB evalued, 0,00 MB already up to date, 6,08 GB copied.

Hard drives don't sound like it is written on them. Still SD does not show the red line that the clone failed.

What's up with this?!? Do I just retry the clone? Costs me another day. I guess I'll try that, but that was some strange behaviour.

Or is this still running and will pop to 860GB evaluated ect???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2009, 07:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That seems to be running much too slowly, unless you have a very, very, very large file on the drive. It's possible that daisy chaining FW800 isn't working well (FW800 is much pickier than FW400) - assuming that the drives don't seem like they're active, and activity monitor isn't showing a lot of disk I/O, I'd stop it and try not daisy chaining the drives...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2009, 07:43 AM
Schniggle Schniggle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
No extremely large file on that drive. I gave it another try and it seems to work right now. And it's pretty fast. Read/write is 34MB/s. 26GB in 13 minutes

Besides that: I really like FW800, but it seems so unreliable. When I have one of the FW800 drives connected to the MBP on startup, the startup hangs, when I then remove the cable startup continues. Same with shutting down the computer. Is this really so hard to be programmed properly?!?

And what's the use of daisy chaining FW-devices if that makes them un-useable?

OK, we'll have to wait for this to finish...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2009, 08:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What specific drives are these?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2009, 08:53 AM
Schniggle Schniggle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Hi dnanian, first of all thanks for your quick replies.

The second try failed again. I'm trying to clone from a WD MyBook Studio Edition 1TB (the silver ones; guess theres a WD10EADS inside) to another Western Digital WD10EADS 1TB in a Pleiades enclosure.

Since it didn't work I now connected the drives seperately: One via FW800 and the other via FW400. Speeds are now at about 22MB/s.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2009, 08:56 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, thanks. Yet another external WD issue, I'd guess... I don't know what they've done to their bridges that causes such problems...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed to enable ownership on Backup grahamwright1 General 1 07-31-2009 02:16 PM
Failed to enable ownership on External backup patrickmast General 1 06-25-2008 11:09 AM
Server drive won't mount after backup rhennosy General 1 11-09-2007 03:49 PM
Force quit required after failed sparse image backup minckster General 1 09-16-2006 10:03 AM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.