Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2009, 02:47 AM
cjedj cjedj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Automatic copy aborted becuase SD could not locate the Source volume named (null)

Hi

I've been running weekly backups with SD! flawlessly for at least a year, but my first backup after upgrading to 2.6.1 failed with the Growl message "Automatic copy aborted because SD could not locate the Source volume named (null)".

I hadn't changed anything in my setup, still OS X 10.5.8, same external drive as always, no name changes.

Has anybody experienced this under 2.6.1, or know a possible fix?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:57 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did you delete and recreate your schedules?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:59 AM
cjedj cjedj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Do you know, looking back, I think I did. I seem to remember noticing that it was set at 9.30pm instead of 3am as I normally have it, so I set it up again.

Would that have made a difference? And if so, do you know what I can do to fix it? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That sounds like you used the "Schedule..." button again. Not the same. Try deleting and recreating the schedules in full...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:23 AM
cjedj cjedj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks, will try that tonight. So does that mean that my old schedule somehow didn't get carried over into 2.6.1, or have I done something to screw it up without realising it?

I only ask, because my Dad updated his version to 2.6.1 yesterday, and if the same thing has happened to him I'll need to sort it remotely, he won't know how to do it himself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:26 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's because the settings or schedule drivers in some cases aren't fully compatible, depending on the version they were created with. This clears up any errors inside the settings package.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2009, 12:45 AM
cjedj cjedj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
2nd failure

I deleted and recreated the schedule last night, and this time it failed for a different reason, according to the Growl message: "SuperDuper! got an error: Connection is invalid".

By the way, I'm on a PPC G5, would that make a difference - I'm tempted to roll back to 2.60 at this point, as I've never had a problem with that version. As it's a relatively old machine I'm not sure if I really need 2.6.1 - what do you guys think?

Anyway, looking at the log, I'm not sure if I've now got a bootable clone or not, despite the error message. Any advice?

Code:
| 03:49:32 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Blessing OS X System Folder
| 03:49:33 AM | Info |       Successfully blessed Mac OS X folder on Lacie Clone
| 03:49:33 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Blessing OS 9 System Folder
| 03:49:33 AM | Info |       Did not bless Mac OS 9 System Folder on  Lacie Clone  because it does not exist.
| 03:49:33 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Updating prebinding on Lacie Clone
| 03:49:33 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Updating boot cache on '/Volumes/Lacie Clone'
| 03:49:44 AM | Info |       update_dyld_shared_cache[91675] current cache invalid because /System/Library/Frameworks/InstantMessage.framework/Frameworks/IMUtils.framework/Versions/A/IMUtils has changed
| 03:49:56 AM | Info |       update_dyld_shared_cache[91675] current cache invalid because /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/ImageIO.framework/Versions/A/Resources/libPng.dylib has changed
| 03:50:05 AM | Info |       Successfully updated boot cache on Lacie Clone
| 03:50:05 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Restoring Spotlight state on Lacie Clone
| 03:50:05 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Restoring Spotlight search indexing state on Lacie Clone
| 03:50:05 AM | Info | PHASE: 4. And Finally...
| 03:50:05 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Quitting SuperDuper!
| 03:50:05 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Quitting SuperDuper!
| 03:50:05 AM | Info | Copy complete.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:40 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This copy looks fine. "Connection is invalid" sounds more like Growl had an issue than SD did.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could not locate Source volume after partition macart General 3 10-25-2011 11:35 AM
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-16-2009 11:53 PM
Ok to copy to smaller destination volume if source volume isn't full? axxxxe General 7 05-25-2009 04:26 PM
Copy aborted because volume cannot be found gryphonent General 10 06-11-2006 10:15 AM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.