Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2009, 03:31 PM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Trying to restore my sparse image to new Hard Drive

I have just put a brand new hard drive in my iBook. When I tried to use Disk Utility from my OS 10.5 install DVD to restore the previous HD's sparse image copy from my Drobo, that and all other sparse images on the Drobo are greyed out.

I have done a search on this issue, but all I can find is a previous thread in this discussion board saying that this is a problem with the intel Mac install DVDs. One solution that was suggested was to use the terminal to use the "ars" command.

I could not "man ars" from the terminal. When I tried to run the "ars" command, I received a "command not found" message. I was able to eventually find the "ars" command after doing an "ls -al" command, but never got that command to work.

I have also been searching the web for more information on this problem but have not been able to resolve it.

What good is having a backup if I can't restore from it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2009, 04:29 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Presumably you mean the asr(8) command.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2009, 04:49 PM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Yes, I did mean the "asr" command. "ars" is what I feel like.

Thank you. This is what I was looking for.

Last edited by dradovsky; 07-27-2009 at 05:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2009, 09:54 PM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Still no luck using the "asr" command in the terminal application on the OS 10.5 install DVD.

The "sudo" command is not recognized, and using "asr" without "sudo" did not work.

Very frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2009, 10:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. I don't have any information about what didn't work, but perhaps it would be easier to install a basic OS X install to a USB memory stick, start up from that, and use SUperDuper! to restore?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:25 AM
davep davep is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 33
Drobo?

Dave -- doesn't the Drobo require proprietary drivers to be installed on the startup disk (the 10.5 install DVD)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:28 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No: the Drobo acts like a regular FireWire or USB drive...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:42 AM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Disk Utility just doesn't seem to like .sparseimage, so I am using Disk Utility to convert it to a .dmg. Then I will try to restore from that .dmg image.

If this works, well.... I don't want to count my chickens just yet.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:54 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
But you don't restore the .sparseimage directly. You open it, then use ASR to copy from its mounted volume, not from the file. You don't need to convert to a DMG.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:43 PM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Please assume that I am a complete idiot that can't make even the smallest move without having my hand held. This shouldn't be too hard to do.

Next, please tell me what is wrong with what I have been doing.

1. Start my iBook from my OS 10.5.4 installer.

2. Open the Terminal app from the Tools menu.

3. type the following command:

ars restore --source /Volumes/Drobo/DanibookHDcopy.sparseimage --target /Volumes/Dan iBook HD --verbose


I really would appreciate any help on this...please.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-28-2009, 10:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. The problem with Disk Utility is not with the 10.5 discs, it's with the 10.4 discs. So you should be able to follow the instructions provided in the User's Guide (with screen shots)... you use "File > Open Image..." to open the image, then restore from the mounted image volume, not from the "file".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:15 AM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Dave,

I followed the instructions exactly as in the user guide: I opened the sparse image from the file menu, and it put the opened disk image into the field on the left off the disk utility screen (just as in the example). But it would not drag into the source field and stick.

Any ideas on what I should try next?

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:21 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It should drag into the source field, Dan, if you're using a Leopard DVD: I've verified it here, and their bug was fixed. Very strange.

Well, you can use the asr command, but you'll use

Code:
asr restore --source /Volumes/the-mounted-image-volume-name-not-the-file --target /Volumes/Dan iBook HD --verbose
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:29 PM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Dave,

I wanted to try using Disk Utility one more time before trying asr. This time I control-clicked the opened source disk image in the left hand field. This popped up a menu asking -- among other things -- if I wanted to set that disk as the source. Eureka...it is copying as I type.

Has anyone heard of this before?

Thank you,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:12 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not something I've heard of before, no. Very strange.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Restoring A Hard Drive, Based on Sparse Image henrytcasey General 3 07-13-2008 09:52 PM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Sparse image from aborted DMG backup? Winston General 9 10-22-2005 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.