Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2004, 06:45 PM
antonino antonino is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Clone to network, restore to many simultaneously

Hi there;

I need to setup a computer lab that has 30 computers. I will setup one of the Mac with OS X, add Office and other software. Then, I want to copy (backup/clone) the HD of that computer to our Mac server it has OS X. Finally, I want to restore the image to the other computers at the same time. In this way, I will have all the computers exactly the same. This will save me a lot of time.

Can I do that?


Thanks for your time

Antonino Carrubba
Los Angeles Valley College
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2004, 09:12 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately, we don't really have a way to "network blast" (multicast) an image to a lot of computers at once... however, you can do something similar to this with a little manual intervention.

First, you'll create the disk image you want with SuperDuper!

Then, if you've got a way to netboot the computers, or have enough Panther installation CDs (just the first one) to get the computers to boot to a basic setup:

- Run Disk Utility (if you're using a Panther install CD, you can run Disk Utility from the installer's Application menu.
- Choose "Restore", and then specify the location of the DMG (put it on the server, in an accessible place from an HTTP request, such as the root of a machine's web site).
- Repeat for each machine -- they can all, of course, be restoring at the same time.

Hope that helps give you some ideas!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unclear about some usage issues camner General 7 04-02-2004 09:57 PM
When I use a Safety Clone, LaunchBar isn't locating my Applications! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-02-2004 11:33 AM
clone to network drive mikef General 1 02-29-2004 11:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.