Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:04 PM
wheelermj wheelermj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Question Converting Read-Only to Read-Only?

Is this a bug or is there a reason that it has to do this? Just so this is completely clear as to what I'm asking: When I make an image I choose Read-Only as my image type to create, then as part of step 3; it says Converting to Read-Only Image. I figured logically that creating a read only image to start with i could basically eliminate this step. Any ideas?

I just recently started using SuperDuper! for imaging and love the fact that i can just start the process and walk away. What seems odd is that on some of the newest hardware (iMacs, MacBook Pro) and using FireWire 800, I seem to only get an effective copy speed of 3 to 7MB/s. Total time is over 2 and some odd minutes for a drive with only 11GB. Seems slow but I'm willing to deal for the convenience of not having to babysit the process like i had to before using SuperDuper!.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If the image was read-only to start with, you couldn't copy to it... in general, we suggest using a Read/Write "sparse" image...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:42 PM
wheelermj wheelermj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Talking

So why does it offer the Read Only option for "Image Type" in the Save Dialog?

Will using the Sparse Image speed up my copy speed?

Awesome response time too! Will be registering soon.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Because it's an option if you must, but as it even says there -- you typically want a sparse image. And, yes -- it'll be faster overall because it won't need to convert.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Itunes library cannot be read.... kswaty General 11 12-11-2007 12:48 PM
You were right -- the first time d-v-c General 7 09-08-2007 09:07 AM
SuperDuper puts harddisk in read only. How to change that? nunomix General 2 09-04-2007 03:24 PM
'Converting to read-only using high compression' patrickmast General 2 08-14-2007 07:57 AM
Will SuperDuper backup like this? (please read) 01RedCLS General 1 12-27-2005 02:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.