Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:48 AM
kswaty kswaty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
Itunes library cannot be read....

Since updating my sandbox (on a Power PC and an intel imac) to 10.4.11, I keep getting this message when I try to open itunes. Unfortunately, I copied back over the update on the Powermac (because I had other issues). When I went back to my 10.4.9 version, I get the same thing.

On the intel imac, I can use itunes in the sandbox, but not when I boot back to 10.4.8 - there I get the same message.

I suspect this is a superduper issue, (although it has not happened before) because I updated the Sandbox on both machines the same day, and they are both having the same problem starting at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:55 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, the Sandbox shares the files with the source, so the source has the problem. Sounds like your iTunes library might be corrupt and/or damaged.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:06 AM
kswaty kswaty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
Thank you for your quick reply Dave. What you said makes sense, of cours. I am also addressing this issue in the Apple discussion forums, but I think it's strange that this is happening at the same exact time, both machines having the same problem the first time I try to use itunes on the main Hd, after updating Sandbox.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:10 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
But a Sandbox doesn't touch these files, and even a full backup simply reads them...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:23 AM
kswaty kswaty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
Could I add albums to my library in Sandbox, so I can use itunes...and, if I do that, what will happen when I decide to copy Sandbox back to my main HD?

Will it be a problem to copy the album list in this way?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:28 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Again, a Sandbox -- if it's a Sandbox (made with the Sandbox scripts) uses the same copy of iTunes as your regular volume. So, whatever you're doing in Sandbox uses the same files.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:35 AM
kswaty kswaty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
My Sandbox was made with Sandbox scripts - I do everything very meticulously, following the manual exactly. I know that the itunes app is not in Sandbox, but so far I can get itunes to open in Sandbox, but it won't even open on main HD. So I just want to use it until I can solve the other problem.

Thanks again for your great support...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As long as you can open your data, that's fine -- the data's the same on both, because your user files are shared.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:13 PM
kswaty kswaty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
I am just reading that Apple applications are copied in full to sandbox - so I guess that is why itunes will open in sandbox and not on orig HD. So I am going to go ahead and add albums to it - will my albums get copied when I copy sandbox back to HD or will I have to add them again...thank you so much
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:24 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Your application is not your data -- it's just the application. Deleting the iTunes application doesn't change your data. Similarly, using a different iTunes doesn't change the fact that it's data is stored in your Home folder...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:27 PM
kswaty kswaty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
I'm sorry - I forgot to say that this is the first data that I will be adding on this machine - so if I add it in sandbox - I guess that makes it accessible from HD, if I ever get that fixed - correct?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes. The data is stored in your Home folder. That means it's on your main drive. It's not really on the Sandbox, since the Home folder is shared.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhoto and iTunes library for notebook and Ex HD Greg14 General 5 05-31-2007 09:46 PM
Gone iTunes alt white/grey lines & retrieving itunes APP from backup? greenjeens General 5 07-26-2006 04:13 PM
Yet another iTunes/SuperDuper! question JJJJS General 6 06-22-2006 08:37 AM
Best Itunes Library Backup Settings, Scripts? greenjeens General 5 05-21-2006 03:28 PM
iTunes Library, playlists gone missing! camner General 3 09-27-2005 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.