Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2007, 07:01 AM
Hussein Hussein is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Kernel Panic after booting from a superduper drive

At first i copied my internal HD of my Macbook Pro to an external Drive with superduper.

After Booting from this external drive i got an Kernel Panic.

panic(CPUU 0 caller ....): Unable to find driver for this platform: "ACPI".

Backtrace, Format - Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
0x2514bce8 : 0x128d08 (0x3cc0a4 0x2514bd0c 0x131de5 0x0)
0x2514bd28 : 0x1a4a55 (0x3d24b8 0x1 0xe 0x3d1cdc)
0x2514be38 : 0x19aeb4 (0x2514be48 0x1 0xe 0x48)
0x2514bee8 : 0x1922d9 (0x1377c 0x20 0x2514bf18 0x1a37c0)
0x2514bf08 : 0x17efdb (0x1377c 0x28a84fc 0x2514bfa8 0x1980f1)
0x2514bf28 : 0x17821f (0x1b269b0 0x45c74a8 0x5 0x1)
0x2514bfa8 : 0x178d11 (0x1 0x1 0x2514bfcc 0x457e078)
0x2514bfc8 : 0x19ad2c (0x0 0x0 0x8 0x457e078) Backtrace terminated-invalid frame pointer 0x0

Kernel version:
Darwin Kernel Version 8.10.1: Wed May 23 16:33:00 PDT 2007; root:xnu-792.22.5~1/RELEASE_I386


What can i do ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2007, 09:42 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This typically means that you're starting up a different Mac with a version of the OS that's not compatible with it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2007, 10:14 AM
Hussein Hussein is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Booting on the same machine

Thanks for the fast reply.
I am booting from the same machine, but i get everytime this Kernel Panik. Do you have another idea ?

greetings

Hussein
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2007, 10:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That seems weird. Well... you can try rebuilding your kernel extension cache.

From the original volume, open terminal. Then, type:

Code:
sudo kextcache -f -u "/Volumes/your-external-drive"
Press Return, enter your password when prompted (it won't echo to the screen) and press Return again. Then, try starting from the copy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 10-30-2007 at 11:06 AM. Reason: Correct parameter reversal.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2007, 11:20 AM
Hussein Hussein is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
I got the the folowing message:

kextcache: /Volumes/digitaldrive120: couldn't get Apple_Boot information
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2007, 11:21 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What kind of drive is this (brand/model), and how is it partitioned?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2007, 11:38 AM
Hussein Hussein is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Only one Partition:

Mount Point : /Volumes/digitaldrive120
Capacity : 115.0 GB (123,522,416,640 Bytes)
Format : Mac OS Extended (Journaled)
Available : 53.1 GB (56,977,076,224 Bytes)
Owners Enabled : Yes
Used : 62.0 GB (66,545,340,416 Bytes)
Number of Folders : 187,856
Number of Files : 794,950

Firwire:
=====
OXFORD IDE Device LUN 0:

Manufacturer: Oxford Semiconductor Ltd.
Model: 0x1
GUID: 0x1D20000036B52
Maximum Speed: Up to 400 Mb/sec
Connection Speed: Up to 400 Mb/sec
Sub-units:
OXFORD IDE Device LUN 0 Unit:
Unit Software Version: 0x10483
Unit Spec ID: 0x609E
Firmware Revision: 0x129
Product Revision Level:
Sub-units:
OXFORD IDE Device LUN 0 SBP-LUN:
Capacity: 115.04 GB
Removable Media: Yes
BSD Name: disk1
OS9 Drivers: No
S.M.A.R.T. status: Not Supported

==================================

I think i should buy a newer HD.

Last edited by Hussein; 10-30-2007 at 11:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2007, 11:39 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
How is it partitioned? (What scheme?) It should be "GUID" for an InteL mac...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2007, 11:55 AM
Hussein Hussein is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Yes

Yes, thats it.

The drive is partionate with an Apple Partion Map. I will repartion the drive with GUID Partion Table.

Thank a lot for your superb help.


Hussein Morsy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2007, 01:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Let's hope it helps in this case, Hussein -- let me know.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Cannot unmount primary laptop drive after booting from SuperDuper copy dariusp General 3 10-20-2007 11:18 AM
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 01:23 PM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.