Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:02 AM
jrychter jrychter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
SD taking *extremely* long when FileVault volumes are present

I think it is time for SuperDuper to handle FileVault-encrypted volumes specially.

I've just ran SD and got: "Elapsed time: 1:33:09". That is for a backup of a 120GB HDD to a 80GB external drive. 20GB of this data is a FileVault sparseimage (my home directory).

From what I noticed, SD seems to do the following:
1. Read the sparseimage from the external drive to compare and see if an update needs to be done
2. Write the sparseimage with new changes
3. (that one I can't understand) rewrite the sparseimage AGAIN

I have no idea why it would do #3 above but I clearly saw it while repeatedly listing the directory where the sparseimage sits on the external HDD.

These backup times make SD almost useless.

My suggestion would be to implement a config option letting me specify which files are to be copied unconditionally -- bypassing the "smart" mechanism. In my case, I know that I want to copy the full sparseimage on every backup -- doing comparisons on it is just too expensive.

Hoping for a fix...

--J.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It doesn't do it twice, actually: it just writes it one time. "Smart Update" only checks the metadata, it doesn't check the contents.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2007, 08:40 AM
jrychter jrychter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
That's strange...

Hmm, that's strange. I was pretty sure that at least the write operation took place TWICE. The backup time of 1h30 instead of the normal ~35 minutes would also indicate that.

I'm glad SD doesn't read the file -- it wouldn't make sense.

Does the amount of free space on the drive I'm backing up to have anything to do with how SD performs the backup, then?

--J.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2007, 08:42 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It doesn't change the order of things at all, no, but it can affect the system, of course.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup Taking Too Long! Rocket General 4 10-03-2005 09:32 AM
It's taking a long time to clone my drive... PaulH General 6 03-02-2005 07:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.