Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2007, 06:11 PM
joe3zz joe3zz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Spotlight State Problem

I am backing up my Macbooks HD nightly using a Smart BU. When I initially created the partition on my WD 250 GB USB drive, I added it to the privacy tab on Spotlight.

The problem is, the drive will disappear from Spotlight, and if I try to add it in again, by dragging it or any other means, it cannot be done. If I erase the partition, and add it back to the privacy tab I can do it, but the problem will happen again after a few backups.

I've even tried letting Super Duper disable_spotlight script after the backup, but that does not help either.

I have two external USB drives, and use one to backup the other with Superduper, without a problem. It only happens on my Mac's drive.

Any ideas?

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2007, 11:58 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you use "disable_spotlight", it'll definitely disappear from Privacy. Similarly, if you try to disable indexing in other ways, that'll take it out of spotlight as well...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2007, 12:41 PM
joe3zz joe3zz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Follow Up Question

Dave,

Sorry, perhaps I did not explain correctly. My problem is occuring even when I do not run the disable_spotlight script. I added running of the script to see if it would resolve the problem.

I actually suspect that it is something to do with Superduper not finishing up the back up job completely. The last time I noticed this happening was when I got an error message that a certain file could not be copied (it was corrupt), but I don't know if this is true in other cases.

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2007, 12:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's quite possible: spotlight status restoration occurs after we've completed a copy. We're aware of this bug and it's something we're looking to improve in the future.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disabling Spotlight? nickie General 2 12-18-2006 08:20 PM
error code=3 ACL issue vudutu General 9 12-13-2006 02:32 PM
Restore Spotlight State when Clone Fails GraphiteWindows General 1 08-29-2006 11:16 PM
Dupe to seperate internal drive problem ArsMoriendi General 9 08-14-2006 12:52 PM
Disk Utility problem after cloning macWish General 38 10-01-2005 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.