Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2007, 05:01 PM
seagonus seagonus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
OSX/XP clone using Super Duper

I recently used Super Duper to create a backup boot image of my system on an external WD 120GB drive. I then created an ASR disk image of the drive to install in case of hard drive upgrade in the future--or system meltdown.

Anyone have any experience restoring a hard drive with Super Duper ASR image--will it work flawlessly--including Parallels and and the XP partition I originally created using boot Camp?

Also, what about the fact that the disk that the image is stored on is GUID partitioned and the actual image is only 45 GB, which does not really inculde the XP partition.

Last edited by seagonus; 04-23-2007 at 05:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2007, 07:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,792
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We definitely do not copy anything other than the volume you selected as the source, so your XP partition will not restore. We only copy the selected volume, and that volume needs to be HFS+ (Mac OS Extended and its variants).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2007, 12:35 PM
seagonus seagonus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
We definitely do not copy anything other than the volume you selected as the source, so your XP partition will not restore. We only copy the selected volume, and that volume needs to be HFS+ (Mac OS Extended and its variants).
What about copying the windows XP partition directly into the bootable backup of OSX that I made through Super Duper.

Would this allow one to access XP via Parallels from the bootable backup made through Super Duper???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2007, 12:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,792
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know how you'd copy it, but since I haven't done this myself I can't say whether or not it will work.

Of course, if you stored your Parallels image in a file on your regular HFS+ volume, rather than as its own partition, it could be copied and used either way.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2007, 01:02 PM
seagonus seagonus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I don't know how you'd copy it, but since I haven't done this myself I can't say whether or not it will work.

Of course, if you stored your Parallels image in a file on your regular HFS+ volume, rather than as its own partition, it could be copied and used either way.
I was thinking you could just drag and drop the XP volume inside the bootable backup volume by connecting the bootable backup via USB (not booting into it, but booting into the regular OSX on the machine). In this way the XP partition is not being used, so shouldn't it copy flawlessly onto the USB drive and be accessible through Parallels?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2007, 02:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,792
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, I don't think that'll work.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2007, 05:54 PM
jreffner jreffner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Windows Apps only then?

So basically, if we want to clone or back up an XP partition or drive, we will have to do it with a Windows application to an NTFS (or FAT32) drive, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2007, 06:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,792
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know whether that's true or not: I just know that we can't do it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Initial Super Duper! Settings greengrass General 1 08-14-2006 10:40 PM
Super Duper! saved my data chris7777 General 1 12-24-2005 10:45 PM
Super Duper problem, won't erase target drive maxwell_photo General 3 11-24-2005 09:34 AM
Super Duper Clone and Virtual PC jettrue General 3 09-23-2005 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.