Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2007, 01:17 AM
Just Some Dood Just Some Dood is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Handling of deleted files

I currently use Chrono Sync and I'm considering switching to SD.

Currently, when a backup runs on my machine, if there are files that have
been deleted since the last backup, those files are moved to an Archive
folder on the target volume and they auto purge at an interval I specify.

This has saved by butt quite a few times.

How does SD handle deleted files on the target disk when performing a
backup?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2007, 08:26 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It depends entirely on the "during copy" method you choose. Smart Update or Erase, then copy will delete them. Copy newer and Copy different will leave them on the drive, where they were. Of course, this makes things more difficult to restore, and doesn't guarantee a bootable backup.

My suggestion, in general, is to rotate "Smart Update" backups to cover this case. See the Introduction to the User's Guide for more.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2007, 07:10 PM
Just Some Dood Just Some Dood is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
My suggestion, in general, is to rotate "Smart Update" backups to cover this case. See the Introduction to the User's Guide for more.
Might I suggest in the future that you add this type of functionality to Smart
Update and other modes that would benefit?

For example, deleted files could be moved to an Archived folder in the user's
home directory with a time limit (user definable?) before full deletion.

In the event of a full restore, that Archived folder would be there without
disturbing the process.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2007, 07:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Thanks for the suggestion!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:20 PM
patgilmour patgilmour is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Some Dood View Post
Might I suggest in the future that you add this type of functionality to Smart
Update and other modes that would benefit?

For example, deleted files could be moved to an Archived folder in the user's
home directory with a time limit (user definable?) before full deletion.

In the event of a full restore, that Archived folder would be there without
disturbing the process.
I'd like to second this. It's a feature already in CCC that I would really like to see in SuperDuper!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change from "Copy Files To..." to SmartBackup Art-Dude General 1 04-05-2007 08:40 AM
Does SD archive deleted or changed files? jbobdobbs General 3 03-26-2007 07:54 AM
SuperDuper! Erasing Audio Files? Emerson General 3 06-22-2005 01:41 PM
backing up specific files and folders winni2 General 1 05-04-2005 08:41 AM
How do I back up to a volume that has files on it? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 05-02-2004 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.