Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2005, 04:27 PM
parlyle parlyle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
1st Backup Question!!

I have 2 external hard drives from one of the Firewire Ports on my iMac flat panel 800mHz. The first one is a Phantom Titanium 250g and the other is a Phantom 160g. They are daisychained together with the 250 first and then the 160. I backed up my system to the 250 with no problem, but when I wanted to backup the system again to the 160, (which I want to be able to take on and off line, and use as a scratch disk) SuperDuper was not able to do it. I did a check, booting off of a DriveGenius Disk and I couldn't get it to even see the 160. What could be the problem?
Thanks for the quick response from anyone.
Lyle
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2005, 04:34 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The 160 is likely formatted as FAT32, rather than HFS+. Use Disk Utility to erase it, using "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" as the format, and things should work fine.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:36 PM
parlyle parlyle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks for the response!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
The 160 is likely formatted as FAT32, rather than HFS+. Use Disk Utility to erase it, using "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" as the format, and things should work fine.
I have had it with this hard drive. A while ago this drive crapped out on me. I had the files (iPhoto and iTunes files) rescued by the IT dept. at work, onto DVD's. Then I sent the drive back to Fantom and they said that all that they could do is reformat it and send it back to me. I checked it out and it is formatted for Mac Extended and journaled. I also erased it 3 times, when the drive stopped accepting information, after about 9 hours of running today and then 3 hours after work. I have tried for 3 days to get this thing working. I think that there must be something more wrong with it than just a reformat job. Is there anything that you may suggest that I could try to find out what and if more severe problems exist on this thing. All in all, I think that Superduper is the real answer to a lot of backup questions, and I thank you for the program. I will just have to wait to find out what my problems are and then use the SD again with the same confidence that I have now for the app. Thanks: Lyle
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:44 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Maybe I didn't quite understand -- you said that you Daisy Chained the drives, but you also indicated that you're using two FireWire ports. Do you have them *both* Daisy Chained AND plugged into the two ports?

I'd try simplifying the bus as much as possible. Don't daisy chain the drives if you can help it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2005, 10:17 PM
parlyle parlyle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Here goes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Maybe I didn't quite understand -- you said that you Daisy Chained the drives, but you also indicated that you're using two FireWire ports. Do you have them *both* Daisy Chained AND plugged into the two ports?

I'd try simplifying the bus as much as possible. Don't daisy chain the drives if you can help it...
No, I don't have the 2 drives plugged into the 2 ports. Only the 250 is plugged into 1 of the 2 ports, and the 160 is plugged into the 250. I'm sorry that I confused you. Your suggestion of using both ports is interesting. I haven't done this with 2 drives before, and wanted to have solid backup so I wouldn't loose any of my photos or tunes, like I almost did when the first drive went south. I am truly amazed at your following up on the emails. It sure is refreshing to actually recieve an answer to questions sooner than I have ever gotten from any forum before. Thank You!
Lyle
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2005, 10:26 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
My pleasure. Definitely try different ports -- let us know how it works out.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2005, 04:57 AM
parlyle parlyle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
My pleasure. Definitely try different ports -- let us know how it works out.
I sure will. And thank you again!
Lyle
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup problem w/apps jules General 3 03-06-2005 04:48 PM
Backup Strategy for new Mac Mini User Matt General 3 02-21-2005 07:21 PM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM
Kernal Panic Luhmann General 4 01-26-2005 10:37 AM
Security of SuperDuper Backup Data? Zeigh General 1 08-08-2004 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.