Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2007, 05:56 PM
mantronix mantronix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
What mechanism is used for making scheduled backups happen in SuperDuper?

Hi. What mechanism is used for making scheduled backups happen in SuperDuper?

I recently set SuperDuper to do a scheduled backup every Sunday at 1am. I then entered my admin account name and password. Because I like to know what's going on, I began searching for exactly what changed on my system to make scheduled runs of SuperDuper possible.

I looked in the admin account's crontab. Nope, no changes there.
I looked in root's crontab. Nope.
I looked in /Library/LaunchDaemons. Nope.
I looked in /Library/LaunchAgents. Nope.
I looked in /System/Library/LaunchDaemons. Nope.
I looked in /System/Library/LaunchAgents. Nope.
I looked in ~/Library/LaunchDaemons. Nope.
I looked in ~/Library/LaunchAgents. Nope.

So, having looked in all these places, where does SuperDuper store its launch info? Thanks.

(I am a paid user of SuperDuper.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2007, 06:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's in the crontab. Try
Code:
crontab -l
in Terminal.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2007, 07:02 PM
mantronix mantronix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks, Dave. I looked in every crontab except my own.

Now, how does SuperDuper handle the password part? Where is it storing my admin credentials so that it doesn't have to ask me for them at 1am on Sunday? I did not see anything related to SuperDuper when I looked in the Keychain app.

Thanks.

(I am a paid user of SuperDuper.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2007, 08:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It authorizes an agent in our application bundle. We never see or store the password.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2007, 05:41 PM
mantronix mantronix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks again, Dave. Interesting. So the authorization step in SuperDuper changes a system setting to allow an agent in the app bundle to proceed with the backup.

What files in my system are changed as a result of the authorization?

Thanks.

(I am a paid user of SuperDuper.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2007, 05:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As I said, it's inside our application bundle. No "system files" are changed at all.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD: How does SuperDuper handle skipped/pinched off scheduled backups? samson General 4 04-18-2007 10:13 AM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 12:29 PM
scheduled backups are not running katachi General 3 06-21-2006 12:53 PM
Scheduled backups failing in SD! v2.1.2 Codeus General 15 06-19-2006 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.