Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:09 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Big Island Hawaii
Posts: 72
SuperDuper vs Tiger - slower backups?

Since upgrading to Tiger from Panther, my bu time for cloning my HD has increased from 8+ minutes to over 17 minutes. The last 3 backups have been around 17:30. Other than Tiger, there has been no significant addition to the system. Also, I am not indexing my external HD via Spotlight.

Wondering if anyone else has experienced similar?
__________________
10.12.5
late 2012 iMac i7 / 32 gb RAM; 1TB Fusion SSD
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD

Western Digital Elements SE 500GB USB 3.0
Western Digital Slim 1TB (used as primary bu drive on MBP)
Western Digital My Passport 4TB

Last edited by 2stepbay; 09-20-2005 at 12:12 PM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, it's not uncommon. Floating files are handled differently by Tiger, and it confuses SD! As such, all floating files look like they've changed every time, and we copy them.

To fix this, you need to lock down ownership -- likely in your Home folder. You can do so with the "chown" command, if you know how to use that... I can give some basic instructions to help out, too.

Once that's been fixed up, your 2nd and subsequent backups after the lockdown should be fast again.
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 09-26-2005 at 11:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2005, 02:54 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Big Island Hawaii
Posts: 72
SD vs Tiger - Chown Command

[QUOTE=dnanian]To fix this, you need to lock down ownership -- likely in your Home folder. You can do so with the "chown" command, if you know how to use that... I can give some basic instructions to help out, too.[QUOTE]

Thanks Dave. Sounds like a Terminal command? Appreciate any direction you can offer.

Does version 2.0 adjust for the floating files? or is the chown command enough?

I appreciate the updated info about v2.0. I like the screen shots. Very generous of you to offer it as a no charge upgrade.

I think SD is a much more efficient way to clone than what the competitors offer. Thanks again for your attention to the detail.
__________________
10.12.5
late 2012 iMac i7 / 32 gb RAM; 1TB Fusion SSD
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD

Western Digital Elements SE 500GB USB 3.0
Western Digital Slim 1TB (used as primary bu drive on MBP)
Western Digital My Passport 4TB

Last edited by 2stepbay; 09-20-2005 at 02:55 PM. Reason: edit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We've figured out another way to handle floating files under Tiger in v2.0, so this isn't a problem. (They changed things in Tiger, and -- unknown to us -- that messed up our previous floating detection.) So, if you don't want to do this, you can wait.

If you don't mind doing it, here's how. First, start Terminal. By default, Terminal starts in your Home folder: that's where we want it to be.

Determine your User ID and Group ID with the following command:

id

(Just copy/paste.) That'll give you output like:

uid=501(dnanian) gid=501(dnanian) groups=501(dnanian), 81(appserveradm), 79(appserverusr), 80(admin)

So, on this machine, my user id (uid) is 501 and my group id (gid) is 501. That's what I want my personal files owned by (I'm assuming here that you keep your personal files in your Home folder, as you should under OSX -- if that's not the case, let me know). To accomplish that, I use chown as follows:

sudo chown -R 501:501 *

Substitute your uid and gid as appropriate -- you want uid:gid in that command (so mine is 501:501). Note that you will have to enter your password when prompted -- it won't echo. that's normal.

In English, that command says "as the super user, change the owner of all files in this folder and all folders contained here, to user id 501 and group id 501".

Once that's done, do your backup twice. The 2nd time, it should be back to normal speeds.

Let me know if that makes some sense.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2005, 05:47 AM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Big Island Hawaii
Posts: 72
Floating Files

Thanks for the Terminal guidance. My nos. were the same as those listed for you. Wondering if this change is undone if I repair permissions?

After change first time backup was 19:40, second 13:37. I'll try again tomorrow. In Panther, my backup times were around 8 minutes.

Thanks again Dave.
__________________
10.12.5
late 2012 iMac i7 / 32 gb RAM; 1TB Fusion SSD
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD

Western Digital Elements SE 500GB USB 3.0
Western Digital Slim 1TB (used as primary bu drive on MBP)
Western Digital My Passport 4TB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2005, 08:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, if your backup times are still longer than expected, there are two possibilities:

- You've got Spotlight on, and it's scanning a lot during the backup
- You've got floating files somewhere other than your Home folder

So, do you store personal files in a different location?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2005, 05:29 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
sudo chown -R 501:501 *
Shouldn't that be:

sudo chown -R 501:501 .

... to include any hidden dotfiles?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2005, 06:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
(Yes, strictly speaking, it should, but I don't think his problem has to do with hidden dotfiles.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM
Upgrading a safety clone to tiger 00afro General 12 07-09-2005 11:53 AM
Superduper fails to backup since tiger jeroenimo General 1 05-17-2005 09:35 AM
OSX Tiger and SuperDuper! brich General 17 04-26-2005 09:20 PM
SuperDuper automounts disk images used for previous backups kbradnam General 1 03-11-2005 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.