Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2012, 08:59 AM
john love john love is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 22
iMac with HDD and SSD

Reference the iMac with the HDD (1 TB+) and the SSD (256GB).

1. Does the Finder show 1, or 2 drives?

2. Assuming 1 drive, does SuperDuper automatically transport only System files to the SSD for faster boot times? Or is SD more selective, e.g., all macOS files (System + all the prime macOS apps such as iLife) to the SSD and all other files (e.g., Graphic Converter, Xcode, TurboTax) to the HDD?

3. Assuming 2 drives for the Finder, does SD have to be told which files get transferred to each drive?

Besides the separate $$$ issue, the above questions and their answers play a significant role in my ultimate decision on the SSD option.

BTW, I have read some very good articles on HDD's and SSD's and the advantages/disadvantages of both. So, I have this info. I just need some technical answers to my 3 items above.

In the interest of full disclosure, Let's run with the assumption that 2 drives show in the Finder.

This pretty much nixes my wish to buy the SSD option for my potentially new iMac because ...

I really do not wish to deal with 2 drives because every time I clone the iMac, I have to clone 2 different drives which means I have to decide which files to put on the SSD and which to put on the HDD.

Selfishly speaking, that is too much decision making ... I just want to be able to clone the internal drive(s) on the iMac in one swoop. Of course, I do have external HDD's, so having to clone these externals is a given. But, I want to avoid having to make work by cloning separate internal drives.

Not to mention the fact that I could royally mess up my System macOS by making the wrong decision on which files to put on the SSD and which to put on the HDD.

Thanks, bunches and bunches for your time in helping me make a smart decision.

John Love

Last edited by john love; 08-26-2012 at 09:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2012, 03:26 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
1. Two drives.

2. Um, no. We do what you tell us to do.

3. Yes, although I assume you'd probably migrate to the new drive. Both drives have to be backed up separately, of course, to separate partitions.

Doing those backups is pretty easy, John, but it's up to you, of course.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.