Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:09 PM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Thanks SuperDuper!

Earlier today I received a new Mac sent as a replacement from Apple for my old one that had been problematic since day one. During the migration process I tried using Time Machine, which took over two hours and then I spent the next few hours troubleshooting one thing after another. On top of that I found the Firewall had been deactivated and the system had strangely gone back to 10.7.2

After quite a bit of frustration and the realisation this just wasn't working I tried the safety backup made to another SATA drive using SuperDuper! just before sending away the old Mac. After starting up from that drive and seeing everything was suddenly fine I then used SuperDuper! again to copy it all over to the main new drive and was back to work in no time. Based on this experience if I ever need to migrate like this in the future I'll stick with SuperDuper!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,845
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad it worked well, Ashley!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:39 PM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Glad it worked well, Ashley!
The only thing I found that didn't work immediately was DropBox which required that I put in the account details for some reason. Apart from that though it was a flawless process with SuperDuper!

The only reason I initially favoured Time Machine was that I was migrating to a newer model Mac with a different processor, so I thought Time Machine would be able to work out any issues but instead it had real problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2012, 11:08 AM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
I've actually had a couple of problems emerge since the migration that are a little perplexing. First of all FileVault became disabled, which I wasn't expecting, so I tried to enable it again and received a message saying the drive wasn't formatted properly for FileVault, though I hadn't formatted it and a quick look in system profiler shows it is the same as all my other drives:

Volumes:
disk0s1:
Capacity: 209.7 MB (209,715,200 bytes)
BSD Name: disk0s1
Content: EFI
Macintosh HD:
Capacity: 999.35 GB (999,345,127,424 bytes)
Available: 812.38 GB (812,378,566,656 bytes)
Writable: Yes
File System: Journaled HFS+
BSD Name: disk0s2
Mount Point: /
Content: Apple_HFS

Secondly it looks very much as though the recovery partition has been lost somehow. I can't boot from it and it doesn't show up in disk utility or start up options. Just reading about this now it looks like I may be able to fix this by downloading and installing Lion again from the App Store but since that partition existed previously on the main drive I'm wondering why it wasn't carried over by SuperDuper!

Does anybody have any thoughts on what is happening here?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2012, 11:13 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 13,845
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
SuperDuper! only copies the partition you select. So, the recovery partition (which is separate, and hidden) wouldn't come over.

Reinstalling Lion over what you have is exactly what I'd suggest. It'll recreate the recovery partition and you'll be able to use FileVault, too.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:22 PM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
SuperDuper! only copies the partition you select. So, the recovery partition (which is separate, and hidden) wouldn't come over.

Reinstalling Lion over what you have is exactly what I'd suggest. It'll recreate the recovery partition and you'll be able to use FileVault, too.
Thanks that worked perfectly. It took a while because the download is so big for Lion and I wanted to ensure everything was backed up and working properly before I enabled FileVault but that is now progressing smoothly in the background and I was able to boot into recovery mode by pressing cmd + R at startup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
migrate, superduper!, time machine


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper Saves Butt...Again! NightOne General 1 10-19-2011 12:56 PM
Failed to enable ownership on SuperDuper BackUp Anne West General 1 02-03-2010 01:38 PM
Superduper fails after upgrade to Snow Leopard josephc General 2 09-12-2009 10:18 PM
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 07:55 AM
A word of praise for SuperDuper! MMM General 3 06-21-2006 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.