Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:36 PM
hapmac hapmac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Exclamation SD cloned drive switched to internal will not boot

Background:
Upgraded an imac G5 ppc 10.4.11 w/ a shiny new Hitachi 2TB SATA I/II/II 6gbps 64mb cache but it kept overheating the cpu DANGIT and sometimes shut the whole thing down -- yikes! Guess the PPC G5 just can't handle those parameters even though it is backwards compatible according to the tech info/specs. Great if you have a newer setup, eh? So I'm gonna use the Hitachi as a backup drive and an also-new 2TB Western Digital WD Green Caviar Intellipower which was originally the backup up used to Super-Duper clone/all files backup from the Hitachi. Only about a week's worth of minor differences so I moved the WD (which seems to run much cooler) into the internal drive spot.

Startup/Boot Problems:
I can boot from the overheating 2TB Hitachi via an external firewire dock, but I cannot boot from the now internal 2TB Western Digital, which was cloned via copy all files (~ approx a week ago).

If I try to boot from the WD-internal, the Startup chime occurs but then it gets stuck on the grey apple logo screen, no widget ever starts to turn; the fans kick in loudly after a while. I can't seem to CMD-S single user boot from it NOR safe-boot (shift startup) from the WD-internal either. I have to shut down via the power button and then:

Have to use the Option-key boot -> to the Hitachi external Firewire dock which boots fine (and the temps stay much lower/acceptable range when it is the external drive) and the WD is the un-booted internal drive. WD-internal gets recognized in the Option-key boot screen BTW as having an OSX system. As does System Preferences > Startup Drive (when I boot from the external hitachi).


When I boot from the external firewire Hitachi (now), I can see and access the WD-internal and all WD folders/files/contents via the desktop; I can copy and install items onto that disk. WD-internal is recognized by both disk utility & system profiler. I just can't boot from it.

While booted from the external Hitachi, use Disk Utility, disk permissions were checked/repaired/re-checked, disk verified, repaired (nothing needed), and re-verified -- but WD-internal just won't boot now that it is the internal hard drive.

I wondered if there were jumpers so I read info on the Western Digital drive that said it should be ready to use, and in fact it was super fine as an external drive.


There's a difference of about 4GB in the log which was what I presume were virtual memory and related files -- see the bold part below. Here's the confirming excerpted part of the log:
<snip>
07:46:55 PM | Info | Copy Mode : Erase, then copy files
| 07:46:55 PM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
<snip>
| 07:47:13 PM | Info | PHASE: 2. Copy Files
| 07:47:13 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Copying files from Hitachi2TB to WD2TBGrnA
| 07:47:13 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Cloning Hitachi2TB to WD2TBGrnA
<snip>
| 04:37:35 PM | Info | Evaluated 5339492 items occupying 965.55 GiB (508303 directories, 4798153 files, 33036 symlinks)
| 04:37:35 PM | Info | Copied 5339318 items totaling 961.81 GiB (508282 directories, 4798002 files, 33034 symlinks)
| 04:37:35 PM | Info |
Cloned 961.81 GiB of data in 75022 seconds at an effective transfer rate of 13.13 MiB/s
| 04:37:35 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Resetting Custom Icon bit on WD2TBGrnA
| 04:37:35 PM | Info | PHASE: 3. After Successful Copy
| 04:37:35 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Making WD2TBGrnA bootable
| 04:37:35 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Blessing OS X System Folder
| 04:37:36 PM | Info | Successfully blessed Mac OS X folder on WD2TBGrnA
So, is there something I'm missing here, something that should have been in those 4-5GB not copied perhaps?

Sorry this is so long. Would appreciate feedback on what I may be misunderstanding or missing here cuz I thought a cloned drive would boot and I think I've done so before in fact.

Thanks!
from a baffled but determined fellow mac user.


more system info in case that helps:
2005 imac G5 ppc (non-intel)
20-inch 2.0ghz ALS
Mac OS X 10.4.11
Machine Name: iMac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac8,2
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 2 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.5f1





for others who are upgrading whether you have imacs, intel, G5, dual core, old macs or whatever, there are some great deals on drives these days. I researched a bunch of drives while I was upgrading BTW. Here are some:

Last edited by hapmac; 04-20-2011 at 10:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you sure that this Mac is compatible with the drive you installed? Sounds to me like it isn't...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:49 PM
hapmac hapmac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Are you sure that this Mac is compatible with the drive you installed? Sounds to me like it isn't...
I had wondered too but before I bought I got upgrade recommendations from several places saying that it was, and everything I can find at WD support etc doesn't indicate a problem, but heck, what do I know? And how can I find out for sure?

Is it possible it would be okay as an external, but not internal? And how come it shows up everywhere if it's not? I mean it's the internal drive now, and I can use it for storage but it won't boot. So weird, huh?

Thanks for suggestions!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:53 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As an external, it just needs to be compatible with the controller in the case. Internally, it has to be compatible with your G5s controller. It clearly isn't.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:55 PM
hapmac hapmac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
As an external, it just needs to be compatible with the controller in the case. Internally, it has to be compatible with your G5s controller. It clearly isn't.

okay well dangit.

Do you know how I find out what the controller is or where to compare definitively for compatibility?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Perhaps talk to Apple, or a hardware focused company like MacFixIt or OWC.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, cloned drive, fails, not boot, won't boot


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac won't boot from cloned drive mgump General 1 09-26-2009 03:00 PM
Slow boot of 8core Intel mac from cloned drive pragmatist General 11 08-24-2009 12:12 AM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Newly cloned internal drive slowly recognized. Brent_S General 2 09-18-2008 05:16 PM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.