Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2010, 01:06 PM
macWish macWish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 75
Errors on MacBook and Clone

I checked the hard drive on my MacBook, using Applejack in single user mode. The following errors were found and repaired:

"Invalid volume file count: should be 541466, but is 541469.
Invalid volume directory: should be 126917, but is 126914."

[The numbers are correct, but the details of quote may not be]

Applejack then automatically ran disk repair again and repaired the errors.

I then booted from a external hard drive to which I had cloned my MacBook with Superduper!. I ran Disk Warrior just to check on Applejack's repair ability and detected no errors with either program.

However, when I rebooted my MacBack and checked the external cloned hard drive, it had the identical errors as the MacBook, namely,

"Invalid volume file count: should be 541466, but is 541469.
Invalid volume directory: should be 126917, but is 126914."

In spite of the errors detected both by Applejack and Disk Warrior, both the MacBook and cloned drive appeared to be working without any problems before and after being repaired.

However, I thought that when SuperDuper! cloned a drive, it corrected any repairable errors in the directory.

Core 2 Duo 2Ghz MacBook, OS X 10.6.5.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2010, 01:15 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It doen't 'correct' errors, no. But we don't copy at a low level: we copy at a high level, file by file. As such, we never touch the directory directly. Why you had the same error I have no idea - but it's not really a SD! issue of 'copying' those errors.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2010, 01:55 PM
macWish macWish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
It doen't 'correct' errors, no. But we don't copy at a low level: we copy at a high level, file by file. As such, we never touch the directory directly. Why you had the same error I have no idea - but it's not really a SD! issue of 'copying' those errors.
As usual, you win the prize for immediate answers to queries. Thanks for correcting my wrong impression of what SuperDuper! does when it clones.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superduper hanging on copy HamelCamel General 2 02-23-2009 01:33 PM
Can I boot MacBook Pro with clone from MacBook? sgmiller General 3 01-09-2009 04:18 PM
New Unibody Macbook Won't Boot Clone ntarantino General 4 12-07-2008 07:54 PM
macbook cannot wake up from sleep after restoring from clone soulatrium General 1 02-26-2008 10:15 PM
Help - SD crashes trying to clone MacBook macWish General 4 01-24-2007 11:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.