Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2010, 12:53 AM
Walter Walter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Unhappy updating

I tried to copy a external FW drive to another external FW drive.

Both drives are of equal size.

First, I selected Back up all files

then in options selected copy newer files.

However i ended up overloading the "other" drive and it would not boot.

I tried to manually trash the duplicated folders, applications and documents.

What selections should i have made to simply update the "other" drive with just those "new" files that are not on the other drive ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2010, 08:58 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
"Copy Newer", which will "union" the contents of the two drives, overwriting older files with newer ones, etc. But this won't make a "bootable" drive in the vast majority of cases, so I'm not sure what you've done.

Also, it couldn't possibly "duplicate" items, since the same item can't exist twice in the same folder. If things were "duplicated", they were in different locations, and thus it's working as expected.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2010, 10:19 AM
Walter Walter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Question

What does " union " mean in the world of SD ?

As best as i can recall the "duplicated" were folders on drive B that had a different name or were in a different location. So, SD should know that right ???

Your right, SD did it's job.

It's also good to know that the "copy newer" may not make a "bootable" drive. When that happens is there some procedure to follow to bless that drive to make it bootable ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2010, 10:49 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No - the whole reason it might not be bootable is because you have a big mess of old and new files, which -- while the drive may be blessed -- isn't really a legitimate OSX startup volume.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2010, 11:06 AM
Walter Walter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Thumbs up

OK, thanks for the clarification for me.

Anyway, I erased and re-installed SnowLeopard.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prebinding updating hangs... palurie General 1 10-16-2009 08:18 AM
Backing Up & Updating (knowing the difference) Enigmacode General 6 08-26-2008 10:38 AM
SD seems to freeze, but ext HD keeps updating Xavier General 4 07-01-2008 02:24 PM
Updating main volume from Sandbox camner General 1 06-08-2008 08:38 PM
Updating Sandbox DaleMeyn General 5 02-28-2006 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.