Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:06 PM
clcgit clcgit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Multiple Bootable Clones

Greetings,

I've been using SuperDuper! for a while and am very impressed by just how easy and reliable it has proven for my backups.

I have, however, been running into issues (perhaps not with SuperDuper! itself) when trying to create bootable clones of my two Macs (one Intel and another a G4). This is what I've done:

1. I create two partitions (HFS+ Journaled, Apple Partition Map, on a 1TB LaCie)
2. I ask SuperDuper! to create bootable clones into each of these partitions

But when I attempt to boot from these partitions (by holding the option key), only the most recently backed up partition shows up. I can still see the data in the other partition that did not show up on the boot menu (so stuff is backed up properly; just not bootable.)

I've tried this on an Oxford Semiconductor-based enclosure with WD drives and get the same error.

As of now, I only create sparse images, but it would be awesome to get multiple bootable clones working. What am I doing wrong?

Thank you for your work!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, Intel Macs really only support boot with GUID partition schemes. Power PC Macs use APM...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:18 PM
clcgit clcgit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Hmmm... I'm imagining that PPC Macs don't support GUID?

I'm just confused as to why only the last backed up Mac (PPC or Intel) shows up.

Also, assuming I had two intel Macs, could this "multiple bootable partitions" idea work with GUID and the correct hard drive?

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Right: PPC Macs don't support GUID, and Intel Macs don't 'officially', and this may be one of the reasons why.

Does the other partition show up as a possibility in the startup disk preference pane?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:29 PM
clcgit clcgit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
The "Startup Disk" pane pretty much shows the same behaviour as holding down the option key at boot: it only shows the last backed up partition (Intel or PPC).

Now that I think of it, I can try making two bootable partitions of the same Intel mac using GUID to see if they both show up. If yes, I can repeat the experiment with my PPC mac and APT. If successful, I'll yell at Apple for 5 seconds, get two hard drives for two macs and get done with this

Or is there a better way to go?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I have no idea why the startup disk preference pane would only show one partition in that case. But I've certainly had many bootable partitions on one drive...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple clones in a single scheduled item Shawn.Parker General 2 10-13-2009 11:48 AM
Multiple Bootable BU copies on one ext HD Martin 095 General 1 07-19-2009 07:35 AM
inner vs. outer partition; bootable clone partition size; Why not back up Sandbox? LearningUser General 1 06-22-2009 07:01 AM
Hard drive size doubled after backup.... sanketr General 7 08-02-2008 12:16 PM
Multiple clones on same partition? ninobravo General 6 08-14-2005 05:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.