Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:36 PM
Sophie Sophie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Before-Copy script failure

I have this as my "quit_vmware.sh", set to "Run before copy":
#!/bin/sh
osascript -e 'tell application "VMWare Fusion" to quit'
------------

The scheduled backup worked fine with VMWare 2.x.

A couple of days I upgraded to VMWare 3.0. Now my backup stops at the Run-before-copy stage, although the quit_vmware script runs and successfully shuts down VMWare. The SD log shows:

| 10:04:41 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script quit_vmware.sh
| 10:04:41 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking Before Copy shell script: /Users/s/Library/Scripts/quit_vmware.sh
| 10:04:41 PM | Error | file:///System/Library/ScriptingDefinitions/CocoaStandard.sdef:2: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "file://localhost/System/Library/DTDs/sdef.dtd"
| 10:04:41 PM | Error | <!DOCTYPE dictionary SYSTEM "file://localhost/System/Library/DTDs/sdef.dtd">
| 10:04:41 PM | Error |
-------------
When I run the script from Terminal, I see this:
>> ./quit_vmware.sh
file:///System/Library/ScriptingDefinitions/CocoaStandard.sdef:2: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "file://localhost/System/Library/DTDs/sdef.dtd"
<!DOCTYPE dictionary SYSTEM "file://localhost/System/Library/DTDs/sdef.dtd">
^
>> echo $?
0
------------
So, VMWare seems to be printing out some message (no idea what it means), but, importantly, seems to exit with a "Success" code of 0.

Am I reading this correctly? Should SD be aborting the backup if the exit code of the script is "0"?

Thanks!

p.s. strange thing, running the script even with VMWare Fusion not running still gives exactly the same result, both in Terminal and in SD.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2009, 12:25 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You really need to restore that missing system file, Sophie.

/System/Library/DTDs/sdef.dtd"

That's the general problem here.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2009, 10:12 AM
Sophie Sophie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
From a quick google, that file is present in Tiger but not in Leopard. I will check some more ...

But could you let me know (a) if I was reading the exit code of "0" correctly, and (b) if SD should be aborting the backup if the script exit code is "0"?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2009, 11:55 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's present on all my Macs, including some that shipped with Snow Leopard.

SD!'s going to abort if there's output on stderr...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2009, 01:21 PM
Sophie Sophie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Ah, ok, thank you for checking! I checked and one of my Macs has it, the other does not. No idea why.

Anyway, I switched to using a VMWare utility called "vmrun" (instead of the osascript approach) which lets me do start, stop, suspend, etc. on specific VMWare images. It's probably a better way to manipulate VMWare and it appears to work so I'll stick with that. That script (in case is helps someone else) is:
#!/bin/sh
/Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/vmrun -T fusion stop /path/to/vmware_image.vmx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-16-2009 11:53 PM
Failed to copy error lmatheo General 1 03-20-2009 08:27 AM
fix-prebinding fails after successful (smart) copy rlfsoso General 2 01-06-2009 08:27 AM
Persistent failure to copy radicalkat General 1 08-10-2007 08:00 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.