Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2009, 03:02 PM
rdlsmith rdlsmith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
sparse bundles and the new 2.6.2(87) update

Just noticed in the latest upgrade it claims support for Sparse Bundle images.

What does this really mean? I've been using SmartBundles for some time now as a way to secure the content of sensitive information. I'm able to mount the external LaCie drive and drag the bundles back to the desktop and mount them.

As long as I know the password or am logged into an account where the password is stored in the keychain, it seems to work fine.

So, what wasn't working before?

Is there any reason for me to suspect that some existing Sparse Bundles residing on the external backup drive are corrupt? If so, do I need to force a complete backup vs. an update?

Thanks,

Randall
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2009, 04:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know what a "SmartBundle" is, but we now support the creation of Sparse Bundles in addition to Sparse Images. Neither one is encrypted, so I think you're referring to something different.

We've always supported backing up to whatever HFS+ volume you might be pointing to (vs. direct, UI-supported creation)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2009, 08:39 PM
rdlsmith rdlsmith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I don't know what a "SmartBundle" is, but we now support the creation of Sparse Bundles in addition to Sparse Images. Neither one is encrypted, so I think you're referring to something different.

We've always supported backing up to whatever HFS+ volume you might be pointing to (vs. direct, UI-supported creation)...
I meant sparse bundle, it was a typo.

Sparse Bundles do have the ability for encryption. This is done when you create them via Disk Utility. 128 or 512 -bit AES encryption are the options.

So, what wasn't working before? In version 86, when it prompts you to update, one of the things it mentions is support for sparse bundles.

Is there any reason for me to suspect that some existing Sparse Bundles residing on the external backup drive are corrupt? If so, do I need to force a complete backup vs. an update with the latest version?

Thanks,

Randall
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2009, 09:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sparse Images also allow encryption. As I said, v2.6 directly supports the sparse bundle type in the "Disk Image..." picker... there's no reason to expect anything's corrupt, and I don't know why you'd make that assumption.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2009, 04:57 PM
rdlsmith rdlsmith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Sparse Images also allow encryption. As I said, v2.6 directly supports the sparse bundle type in the "Disk Image..." picker... there's no reason to expect anything's corrupt, and I don't know why you'd make that assumption.
Because when SD! notified me of an upgrade it included the following text concerning what "new features" were included:

- Support for "Sparse Bundle" images

I read that and thought maybe there wasn't support before the current version.

I have attached a screen grab of what I'm talking about.

In any case, you say it's not an issue and the spot checks I've made seem fine so I'm good with that.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SDmsg.jpg (52.7 KB, 144 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2009, 11:24 PM
CrashDavis CrashDavis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16
I think the OP thought that SD just now started supporting sparse bundles in the backup. So he had been storing them in his backup, and was worried that SD didn't support them in the backup until the latest release.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sparse bundle, sparse bundles, sparsebundle


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.