Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:53 PM
macnatic macnatic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
anyway i can ignore the free space?

hi folks,
Is there anyway i can simply create an image that contains the "used" volume instead of the entire volume including the free space. I have a 250GB hdd both internal and external. Currently i have only used 30GB on the internal one. As far as i understand, the full backup on SU will create hmm... a backup that spans the entire source hard drive. is there anway i can accomplish this ala acronis trueimage? so in essence, prevent the free space on the internal hdd from being included on the disc image backup so i will be able to use the rest of the free space on the external hdd for other usage. thanks for any advice.

macnatic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's what we do, macnatic: we copy only the files, not the free space...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2005, 02:07 PM
edoates edoates is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
What I do is to use DiskUtility to create a sparse image (see updateable images in the FAQ) and create a max size of about what I think I'll ever need. For example, my system drive is 250GB, but my sparse image max size if only 90GB, and I have about 20GB for expansion over time.

On my backup drive (also 250GB external firewire (the OWC Mercury Pro), I did a minimal Tiger install (only one print driver for my main printer, no language translations) which takes only a couple of gigs and is insured to boot up with DiskUtility in place. Then I create the sparse image and do a SU full backup. After that, I perform "smart" backups to update the sparse image. The rest of the drive is available for other uses (like other SU backups for my iTunes files stored on yet another drive).

If disaster strikes, I can boot the backup drive and use DiskUtility to restore my system drive to the most recent backup.

Ed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2005, 06:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yep, that works fine, and is certainly another option. The lack of direct boot can be a slight pain in the event of an emergency, though, so I usually suggest partitioning as a "best practices", and sparse images as the "runner up".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
smart update didn't work due to remaining space problems JohnCoffee General 1 05-08-2005 09:42 AM
Space gobbled pupino General 5 05-04-2005 09:21 AM
"Could not disable ignore permissions" when backing up after Tiger upgrade dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-30-2005 10:36 PM
My copy script says SuperDuper! should ignore a folder, but it's copied. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 12-24-2004 02:42 PM
I've told SuperDuper! to ignore a folder, but it still displays during copying. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 12-24-2004 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.