Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2009, 06:02 PM
Paint Guy Paint Guy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
File Placement Questions

Question 1
I am going to copy all of my files from my external hard drive to my mac and then just clone the whole thing onto an external drive (Applications and Art Files) and I am wondering if this is the best method? Will adding 112 GB to my mac HD slow it down at all?

Question 2
Here's how I thought I could do this. Please give me your opinions!

?Mac Hard Drive: Store all Art/Client work (112 GB) on Mac Hard Drive.
?Buy a Terrabyte External Hard Drive then Clone entire mac hard Drive to it along with all applications.

Does this sound like a good plan for backup. Would this mean that if my mac HD went down I could just boot from the External Terrabyte?
What do I need to do to ensure I can boot from the external drive if the mac HD bites it?


Question 3
I'd like to hear from others who have "large" art files and how they organize their files. Do you save them to your mac hard drive and then just clone them with applications or some other method?
I have 112 GB of files and I am just wondering what the best method would be as I am ading to it every day. Do you back up work to DVD's too or just use an external?


Question 4
Do I have to place the files in any particular place on my mac hard drive? I thought I read somewhere that I needed to place the files in "Users" for Super Duper to make it "bootable".


Question 5
Can I just create a folder within my mac hard drive root and name it "Backup Hard Drive" and then copy all of my Clients work (112 GB) into it?


Sorry for all of the questions. Just want to do this right!
Thanks
________
Ayelet live

Last edited by Paint Guy; 09-18-2011 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2009, 10:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Since you've asked these questions in mail, and I've responded there, I'm going to leave this message alone and allow others to chip in should they wish.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:01 AM
Paint Guy Paint Guy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Since you've asked these questions in mail, and I've responded there, I'm going to leave this message alone and allow others to chip in should they wish.
Thanks Dave, I just want to see what methods others are using to store files.

Well I am leaning towards buying a 1 TB Hard Drive then partitioning it into 2 parts. 1/2 for the OS and 1/2 for my Artwork/Client Work etc. If I use Super Duper I can clone the entire OS and just reboot from the external hard drive if need be.

Also, if my computer takes a nosedive and needs repair, I don't have to worry about the repair shop seeing all of my files. The mac guy also said that the OS should run faster if all of my files are on a separate drive.

Anyone using a similar method and does it work pretty good?
________
Web Shows

Last edited by Paint Guy; 09-18-2011 at 02:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2009, 11:56 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Your OS is not going to run faster if you're using the same drive, partitioned into two volumes, for both OS and files, no.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2009, 12:36 PM
Paint Guy Paint Guy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Your OS is not going to run faster if you're using the same drive, partitioned into two volumes, for both OS and files, no.
Currently, when I am working on a project, I will just save it to the LaCie external hard drive, but I am a bit confused as to how to do it once I buy Super Duper?

If I buy another 1 Terrabyte Drive will I just drag the files from the LaCie External Drive onto the TB drive. I don't see why I need Super Duper to do that, but I am so confused now I don't know what to do.

All I want to do is to have a backup of my files and OS in case my computer tanks and then have it do incremental update on a daily basis, but I am getting so many different opinions of how to do this I really don't know what or how I am going to do this now.
________
LIVE SEX WEBSHOWS

Last edited by Paint Guy; 09-18-2011 at 02:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:17 PM
Paint Guy Paint Guy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
OK, after reading the Super Duper manual a second time I think it is slowly making sense. I will give this a try but first Dave, could you please carefully look at my steps and tell me if I am doing this right? Thanks

Step #1
I will partition a 1 TB Hard Drive into 2 separate partitions. 1/2 for the mac OS and 1/2 for my work so 500 GB each. The entire drive has one partition scheme (GUID), and the volumes should be "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)". I will give both partitions separate names like: "Mac OS" for one partition and "ARTWORK" for the other partition. Is this Correct?
BTW any ideas on names that might be appropriate?

Step #2
Now I will open Super Duper and Clone my mac Hard Drive to the 1 TB Hard Drive side named "Mac OS" using: "Backup ? all files" so it can be Bootable if need be. I will leave Repair Permissions "unchecked". The first time I copy files to an empty HD I will select: "Erase Backup, then copy files from Macintosh HD". Any subsequent backups I will use "Smart Update Sandbox from Macintosh HD" so Super Duper is only copying any "changed" files and not replacing everything. Is this correct?

Step #3
Now using Super Duper I would select my LaCie External Hard Drive and Clone it to the 1 TB Hard Drive side named "ARTWORK" using: "Backup ? all files". I will leave Repair Permissions "unchecked". The first time I copy files to an empty HD I will select: "Erase Backup, then copy files from Macintosh HD". Any subsequent backups I will use "Smart Update Sandbox from Macintosh HD" so Super Duper is only copying any "changed" files and not replacing everything. Is this correct?

Results
Now I have:
Mac Hard Drive - Mac OS and Applications only!
LaCie Hard Drive - Artwork only!
1 TB Hard Drive - 500 GB (OS and Applications) and 500 GB (Artwork)

Is this correct. Are there any steps or things I have missed or need to know?


Thanks
________
Live sex

Last edited by Paint Guy; 09-18-2011 at 02:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup fails redarm General 2 06-02-2008 01:30 PM
Can't copy or duplicate a file on Mac 10.4.11 hard drive sheppy General 1 12-07-2007 09:42 AM
Backing up to a .DMG File on Server Marco_Polo General 14 11-17-2007 12:55 PM
questions about copying of very large (32GB) file mykmelez General 2 12-15-2006 10:31 PM
Problems with SD fdwlaw General 8 01-15-2006 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.