Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2009, 09:19 AM
Willks Willks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Where are the instructions to recover from a network

I've never had this much of a hard time on my old PC's. But, that aside, I've backed up my contents using SD OVER MY NETWORK to a WD MyBOok. Now, I can access the files individually through a mounted image, but how do I restore a full image? I even went through the whole time wasting procedure of installing OSX to the new hard disk, (Disk Utility restore would not work), installed SD, and still could not recover the image to the hard disk. What gives? Is it possible? I used to restore unix back ups back in the 90's using tapes!

Has anyone actually ever completely mirroring their old system from a network super duper image? I'm getting doubtful it is possible seemings I haven't found a clear way of doing it. Everything else on my mac has been easy, except this.

Not even as ROOT user can I copy the mounted image contents, although this is probably an OSX thing.


Sorry I sound so annoyed, but I heard things were meant to be easier on MAC. It isn't, at least, not if you deviate from Apple's software.

What do I want:

SImple: Complete network restore to my new hard disk!

Last edited by Willks; 07-24-2009 at 09:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2009, 09:26 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I have answered this in the other thread you posted to.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2009, 10:34 PM
Willks Willks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Yes sorry. Browser crashed (bad excuse I know, but using windows when posted).

Ok I sorted it out. I installed OSX to a bootable USB device, and carried out the restore. It worked as expected. Sorry for the annoyed expressions of frustration.

I'd delete the posts, but I'll leave them there to remind me not to fire off my thoughts without first trying all scenarious first.

Thanks again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willks View Post
I've never had this much of a hard time on my old PC's. But, that aside, I've backed up my contents using SD OVER MY NETWORK to a WD MyBOok. Now, I can access the files individually through a mounted image, but how do I restore a full image? I even went through the whole time wasting procedure of installing OSX to the new hard disk, (Disk Utility restore would not work), installed SD, and still could not recover the image to the hard disk. What gives? Is it possible? I used to restore unix back ups back in the 90's using tapes!

Has anyone actually ever completely mirroring their old system from a network super duper image? I'm getting doubtful it is possible seemings I haven't found a clear way of doing it. Everything else on my mac has been easy, except this.

Not even as ROOT user can I copy the mounted image contents, although this is probably an OSX thing.


Sorry I sound so annoyed, but I heard things were meant to be easier on MAC. It isn't, at least, not if you deviate from Apple's software.

What do I want:

SImple: Complete network restore to my new hard disk!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:25 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Quote:
Ok I sorted it out. I installed OSX to a bootable USB device, and carried out the restore. It worked as expected.
I'm glad what I suggested earlier worked fine. Congratulations!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way eject a Network mount Gary@tmi General 10 07-22-2009 10:48 PM
Backup to cheap network drive impossible? Schalke04 General 4 01-18-2009 05:59 AM
Detailed instructions for automounting network drive? bmat General 1 06-09-2007 07:01 AM
Network drive won't auto mount Shamyl Zakariya General 7 06-05-2006 04:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.