Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2009, 02:58 PM
mrstucci mrstucci is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7
apprehensive user-bootable clone....

I must be really dense but I haven't found the exact answer to calm my fears about making a bootable backup. I have a new portable 500GB external drive and I want to do TM and make a bootable clone. I have partitioned the drive- 305GB for TM and 160GB for a clone (my internal drive on my MBP is about 185GB in size-88.42GB is being used). So I am confused-in SD, what do I choose to make a bootable backup? I have the window open and I see, "Mac HD to HD Clone; Backup-all files; and this is the confusing part: Copy newer files from Mac HD to HD Clone." I think I read somewhere that I want to have Smart Update also but can't find out how to turn that feature on or choose it. So if some kind soul could help me out and lead me by the hand (in cyberspace) and tell me how to set this up. I am using SD 2.5. Thanks for any help! Judy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2009, 03:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Click Options and choose "Smart Update" under "During copy".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2009, 03:18 PM
mrstucci mrstucci is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7
Ok. So that should do it? I will have a bootable clone and TM on the new portable hard drive??? Sweet. And to get a fresh copy of the bootable clone, then I need to start SD and start the backup, right? Can I set up a schedule for it too? Do I need to check anything in the Advanced tab? Copy ACL's from Mac HD is already checked..... Judy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2009, 03:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Assuming you're properly partitioned, Judy, and your drive is appropriate, yes -- that's all you need to do in SuperDuper. If this is a scheduled copy, you need to delete and recreate your schedule -- changing the main window does not affect existing schedules.

Nothing need be checked in the Advanced tab other than the Copy ACLs option (checked is the default).

If you want to do this to another drive, just set it up appropriately and click Schedule... -- every time you do that, you create a new schedule.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2009, 03:33 PM
mrstucci mrstucci is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7
Thanks so much for holding my hand....... Judy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2009, 03:20 PM
mrstucci mrstucci is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7
I already have SD backing up once a week to another hard drive-if I wanted to set up a schedule for this new drive, how to I add another schedule? Judy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Backup user files suppress system files from a clone freestef General 2 02-25-2009 02:59 PM
Smart update user files to pre-existing bootable volume = disaster! Sondergaard General 6 04-24-2007 05:09 PM
Clone Not Bootable slickmrick General 11 08-12-2006 12:08 PM
User Acc. Passwords On Clone changed? slickmrick General 2 06-27-2006 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.