Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:20 AM
CStephen84 CStephen84 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Question New MBP and Super Duper Restore

Hello. I have read the posts regarding restoring a Super Duper external hard drive backup from old machine to new machine and believe I understand the process now. (Choose SD backup from external hard drive upon first boot of new computer or after clean erase and install.) My old machine is a 2 year old Mackbook Pro which is slowly dying (think spilled coffee). I now own a new MBP. If I do the restore properly will my new machine have all of the subfolders I have created under documents, all of the working applications complete with passwords where the belong, etc.?

I have learned that using Migration Assistant did nothing but move thousands of files from my old computer into one new folder, not keeping my subfolder filing. Everything is in there even files pertaining to different applications. Same with the applications themselves.

Time to try again.

Thanks.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:22 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's not at all what I've seen if you migrate when first prompted to "Copy From Another Mac", Steve. Is that what you did?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:41 AM
CStephen84 CStephen84 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
When I followed the prompt you refer to I copied from the external hard drive. Accidentally I copied the Time Machine backup rather than the Super Duper backup. So that gave me the multiple files. I remember some of the choices on the external hd were "Storage", "System preferences", my user files, and "Backup". I was thinking that Storage was my SD backup. I was wrong. "Backup" is the name of my SD backup. So I pointed the new computer setup to Storage, system preferences and everything but the correct file ("Backup").

When the above did not work, I did a clean erase and install and did not copy from another Mac or drive (mistake) but went on and installed the applications disk that came with the new Mac. Then I ran the Migration Assistant plugged into my old Mac (which is still working for now at least). When that was finished I got 3 new folders on the hard drive. One said documents and had thousands of files and documents. One had all the applications and I don't remember what the third was.

I am now doing another clean erase and install and this time when prompted I am going to try to point it at the correct super duper back up on the external hard drive.

Thanks Dave,

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK - let me know what happens, Steve!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:22 PM
CStephen84 CStephen84 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
When I choose transfer from another Mac, it goes to my external hard drive which is connected with firewire cable. Here are choices I can choose to transfer:

1. "Steve" which seems to have App and other folders
2. "Network and Other Settings"
3. "Applications Folder"
4. "Files and folders on 'Backup'"
5. "Storage"

#4 should be my SD backup
#5 is Time Machine

I do not know what #1, 2 and 3 are associated with and whether they should be selected in addition to #4.

Any thoughts on that?

Thanks.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This is during the initial boot, Steve - right after the install has finished (you haven't run Migration manually)?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.