Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2009, 03:36 PM
madom madom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Mounting Issues?

Hi

I backup to a Synology 107+ in my local network. Normally it should do a backup every evening. But: Mostly, mounting takes forever. Then it usually works but sometimes it's trying to back up to ".TemporaryItems" or "Trash" or something when it should be backing up to "SuperDuperBackup.sparseimage".

I must admit I didn't figure out when it works and when it doesn't.

Can anybody help?

cheers
m.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2009, 04:16 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did you delete the sparse image at some point?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2009, 04:17 PM
madom madom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
no, it's still there.

now it's trying to backup to a file called .DS_Store....

Last edited by madom; 03-21-2009 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2009, 04:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You never deleted it? That seems weird. I'd delete and recreate your schedule - you can reselect the same sparse image even though it's grayed out.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2009, 04:29 PM
madom madom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
I know. I have to chose the right file manually and then it works maybe a few times before again it tries to backup to a wrong file.

also, mounting the image, when I set it to the right name, takes forever. Maybe 5 minutes. Is that normal?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2009, 04:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's quite normal for it to take a while to mount, yes. As far as referencing the wrong file - I can't understand how that can happen. We store an explicit filename, and reference it by that name...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SFTP backup and image mounting problems invictus26 General 3 02-09-2009 10:18 PM
Network backup issues bcarpenter General 1 01-03-2009 08:08 AM
[info] AppleScript to Work Around SD & Intel 10.4.8 Issues Mr. CoBalt General 2 01-04-2007 04:07 PM
Back up issues (slow) boboso General 5 08-11-2005 01:36 PM
Mounting Catch 22 gatorron General 3 04-16-2005 06:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.